The following family group descriptions are adapted from Hamilton Child's "Gazetteer of Jefferson County, N.Y.", published in 1890. The families are arranged alphabetically by township, and wherever possible, a link has been made to a Jefferson County Pioneer. We welcome any corrections and additions to the information presented.
This project has only been made possible through the efforts of several volunteers, directed by Shirley Farone, who has been a behind-the-scenes participant in this website from the very beginning. The original idea came from Sharon Patchett, who is also giving her time to the project. Sisters Marcia Alary and Barbara Britt, both of whom have been volunteering on other projects for the website, are also working on this. Gary Roe was one of the first to get his work in. We are grateful to each of them for making this material so easily available. More volunteers have made contributions as the task proceeded. Sharon Lagendyk's work has been extremely accurate and timely. Mark Wentling has undertaken a special project connected with the gazetteer. Eleanor Burrows here in Jefferson County, and Melinda Cornwell in Alaska are our newest volunteers.
Elihu Allen, son of Joseph, was born in Pierrepont Manor, N. Y., in 1806. He was a blacksmith by trade. He married Almira, daughter of George and Angeline (Betts) Andrus, by whom he had three sons, viz.: George, of Buffalo, N. Y.; William J., of Adams; and Edward B., who was born in 1849 and died in 1884. William J., born October 16, 1845, learned the printers' trade with Dwight & Eddy, publishers of the Jefferson County News, of Adams. He worked on the Watertown Reformer for a while, and in 1868 in the office of Northern Temperance Journal, where he remained about two years. In 1870 he purchased a half interest in the business and entered into partnership with A. B. Delong, and subsequently with S. W. Hatch. In 1879 he became sole owner and has since published the Jefferson County Journal. He married Alice Dee, daughter of A. D. and Rhoda (Warner) Killy, February 4, 1874, and they have three daughters, viz.: Dora May, born September 29, 1879; Edna Frances, born January 16, 1880;and Mabel Alice, born March 7, 1886.
Charles H. Andrus, son of Ira and Melinda (Taft) Andrus, was born in 1830, and was reared upon a farm. He married Theresa I., daughter of Archibald and Sarah A. (Davis) Barritt, in 1859, and they had one son and three daughters, namely: Frances E., who married William H. Potter, in 1879, and has three daughters, Cora M., Minnie A., and Frances T.; Edeline H., who died young; and Nellie L., who married Jay S. Armstrong and has a son, Frank G. Mr. Andrus is proprietor of a livery stable, and owns the Andrus block in Adams village.
John S. Archer, son of Daniel and Elizabeth (Snyder) Archer, was born in Ulster County, N. Y., in 1813, and learned the carpenters' trade. He married Harriet E. Baylis, in 1835, resided in New York city for a time, and in 1852 located in Jefferson County. Of his five children, John H. and William M. reside in this town. John H. Archer was born September 9, 1843. In 1862 he enlisted in Co. H, 94th N. Y. Inf., and participated in the battles of second Bull Run, Antietam, and others. In 1864 he re-enlisted in Co. L, 18th Cav., and served to the close of the war. After the war he was employed in mills and as a clerk in stores, kept hotel in Delta, Oneida County, and the Frontier House at Sackets Harbor. In the spring of 1888 he purchased the hotel at Adams. He married Libby, daughter of George W. and Catharine (Miller) Neiss, September 6, 1868, by whom he has had four children, viz.: Charles R., who died in infancy; George B., born March 27, 1871; Nellie May, born March 31, 1873; and Flora I., who died in 1881. Mr. Archer is owner and proprietor of the Archer House, at Adams.
Luman Arms, born in 1796, married, first, Caroline, daughter of Rufus Arms, by whom he had five children, viz.: Louisa (Mrs. Albert Yandes), who died in Michigan in 1888; Julia (Mrs. Merrick Needham), who died in 1843; William D., of Adams; Henry, of Michigan; and Caroline (Mrs. H. D. Bartlett), of Collingwood, Ohio. His first wife died in 1834, and in 1835 he married Elizabeth Pierce, by whom he had three children, viz.: Harrison, of Chicago, Ill.; Foster M., of Adams; and Gertrude (Mrs. Charles M. Heath), of Adams Center. Mr. Arms's second wife died in 1882, and in 1883 he married Olive, daughter of Samuel Ward. Mrs. Arms died in 1884. William D. Arms, born February 14, 1829, was reared on his father's farm. He engaged in mercantile business with O. R. Davis, at Adams Center, for several years, and then removed to New York and was a jobber in woolen goods for some time. In 1875 he formed a co-partnership with J. M. Hungerford, in the sale of dry goods and carpets, at Adams, in which business he still continues. He married Amanda C., daughter of J. W. and Candace L. (Fox) Horton, in 1855, by whom he had two daughters -- Minnie L., who died in 1885, aged 25 years, and Carrie E., who resides at home. His wife died in 1872, and in 1877 he married Carrie, daughter of Heman and Caroline (Pierce) Grinnell. Mr. Arms has been supervisor of the town eight terms and chairman of the board five years. He is a generous supporter of the Baptist Church, and resides on North Main Street.
Charles H. Babcock, son of Russell and Lucinda (Maxon) Babcock, was born in Scott, N. Y., in 1832. At the age of 18 years he was apprenticed to the trade of carpenter and joiner. In May, 1861, he enlisted in Co. C, 67th Regt. N. Y. Vols., and subsequently re-enlisted in Co. H, 13th Vet. Vols. of Wisconsin. He participated in the battle of Fair Oaks and many others, and served to the close of the war. He married Caroline C., daughter of Benjamin T. and Polly (Sweet) Lee, in 1865, and soon after engaged in the flouring business in Allegany County. In 1870 he located in Adams, where he has since worked at his trade. He has one son and one daughter, viz.: Benjamin C., born in 1866, now a resident of Hounsfield, and Dora Mabel, born in 1869. Mr. Babcock resides on School street, in Adams Center.
William Barney was a native of Guilford, Vt., whence he removed to Ellisburgh about 1806. His children were William, Osborn, Norman, Jared, Calvin, Gracia, and Ruth Ann. Osborn was born in 1810, and was reared upon a farm. He married Lucy, daughter of Samuel Fish, who bore him four sons and two daughters, viz.: Bradley O., who resides in Belleville; Sewell A., of Adams; Emory O. and Lurissa, who died in Sandy Creek; William, who resides in Sandy Creek; and Angeline, who married William D. Sanford and died in 1864. Sewell A. Barney was born July 6, 1834. At the age of 10 years he commenced work for Norman Barney, at Belleville, finishing cabinet ware, where he remained about four years. He worked at farming several years, and later with his father at watch repairing. He had special instruction with H. K. Newcomb in watchmaking and engraving, and at the age of 21 years, in 1855, engaged in business for himself, in Sackets Harbor. He held the office of town clerk, in 1861, was appointed postmaster and held the office until 1866, when he removed to Adams. His wife, Harriet C., whom he married in 1858, bore him one son and three daughters, viz.: Alice Cornelia, who resides with her parents; Jennie Geraldine (Mrs. J. Herbert Van Slyke), who has a daughter, Bertha Marion, and resides in Adams; Louis S., born August 20, 1871; and Harriet E., born July 12, 1875.
Titus Bassett was born in New Haven, Conn., in 1781, and in 1804 removed to Adams, where he died in 1867. He married Sarah, daughter of Nathaniel Warriner, and their children were Harvey, Marvin, Marvin, 2nd, of Oswego, and Laura, of Adams. Harvey Bassett was born in Adams in 1819, and here learned the hatters' trade. He married Jane, daughter of Abram and Leah (Van Buskirk) Ouderkirk, in 1843, by whom he had a daughter, Sarah Jane, who was born in 1842 and died in 1864, and a son, Daniel D., who was born in 1844. He died in 1856. Daniel D., who learned the printers' trade, served in the First N. Y. Vet. Cav. until the close of the war. Hr married Angerase, daughter of John and Mary (McGovern) Foley, of Ellisburgh, in 1866, by whom he has had a son and a daughter, viz.: Lena R., who died February 14, 1883, aged 15 years, and Floyd H., born May 4, 1873. Mr. Bassett is foreman of the Journal printing office in Adams village, and resides on Clay street.
James E. Bentley removed from Johnstown, N. Y., to Antwerp early in the present century. He married Prudence Coats, by whom he had four sons and five daughters. David, son of James E., was born in 1828 and was reared upon a farm. He married Caroline, daughter of Turner E. and Amanda (Cleveland) Howard, who bore him two sons and one daughter, viz.: W. Gordon, Mary, who died young, and George A., of Rutland. David Bentley died in 1883. W. Gordon Bentley, born in 1853, graduated from Adams Collegiate Institute in 1883, and has been engaged in teaching in the institute since the fall of 1882.
Samuel Bond was born in Watertown, Mass., in 1793. At the age of 18 years he removed to Keene, N. H., and learned the cabinetmakers' trade, and there remained five years. He then removed to Whitestown, N. Y., and two years later located in Adams, where he went into partnership with Perly D. Stone in the cabinetmaking business. Having experienced religion in early life, he labored faithfully in his Master's vineyard, and was familiarly known as "Father Bond." He was for 49 years elder of the Presbyterian Church in Adams, and died in February, 1870. He married Rosaline Fisher, of Keene, N. H., and they reared three sons and two daughters, viz.: Samuel Newel, of Adams; George W., of Syracuse; Ellen (Mrs. Benjamin Randall), of Chicago; David, who became a minister of the gospel and settled in Peekskill, where he died after one month's service; and Mary (Mrs. M. C. Potter), of Lyle, Minn. Samuel N. Bond was born in Adams in 1820. He became a clerk with J. H. Whipple, and subsequently engaged in mercantile business. He married Elizabeth C., daughter of Peter and Lorany (Blackstone) Doxtater, in 1847, by whom he has one daughter, Lillian D. (Mrs. Joseph Atwell), of Watertown. Mr. Bond has been an active member of the Presbyterian Church and an elder for 30 years. He is now a general merchant in Adams and resides on Church street.
Jacob Brimmer, son of Jacob and Sarah Brimmer, was born in Petersburg, N. Y., in 1804, and was reared upon a farm. He married Matilda, daughter of Peleg and Hannah (Peckham) Saunders, in 1831, and in 1834 located in Adams, in the Thomas settlement. He had four sons and four daughters, viz.: Jacob, who resides in Illinois; Dennis, who died young; Nathan, who also resides in Illinois; Electa D., who married Lewis D. Green, who died in Berlin, N. Y., in 1883; Mary (Mrs. George Bull), who resides in Rural Hill, in the town of Ellisburgh; Matilda (Mrs. Porter J. Green), of Illinois; Ambrose, who resides in Belleville, N. Y.; Sarah E. (Mrs. James E. Packer), who died in Missouri in 1885. Mr. Brimmer died in Adams, February 4, 1887. His widow and daughter, Electa D. (Mrs. L. D. Green), reside on Prospect Hill, North Main street, in Adams village.
Joseph Bullock, a native of Guilford, Vt., married Abigail Avery, who bore him eight children, of whom Joseph, Jr., who was born in 1787, died in Ellisburgh, where he located in 1806. He married Nancy, daughter of Francis Furgerson, and they had eight daughters, viz.: Mary C., who married, first, Alfred Stearns, second, Darwin Sherwood, and third, John Briggs, and is now a widow and resides in this town; Eliza Ann, of Ellisburgh; Abbie A., who died in Ohio in 1836, aged eighteen years; Emma A. (Mrs. Samuel Stearns), of Medina, N. Y.; Julia (Mrs. H. Twadell), of Indiana; Lucy J. and Frances E., of Adams; and Sarah M., of Ellisburgh. Mr. Bullock was a carpenter and joiner by trade. He served in the War of 1812, participated in the battle of Sackets Harbor, and received a tract of land as a bounty. Lucy J. Bullock located in Adams Center in 1862, and engaged in the milinery and fancy goods business. In 1866 she removed to Adams village and engaged in the same business, which she still continues.
Myron D. Bunce, son of Henry and Olivia (Kellogg) Bunce, located upon a farm in Adams when a young man, and taught school in the town several terms. He married Sally, daughter of Walter and Miranda (Harrington) Blazier, of Adams, and they had two children, Frank H., of Rodman, and Walter G., of this town. The latter was born in Adams, July 3, 1866, and was educated at Adams Collegiate Institute. He engaged as clerk with W. V. & F. C. Bailey, and subsequently with H. C. & A. J. Green, and with C. E. Glazier, when he bought an interest in the business. He married Emma M., daughter of Chauncey L. and Emeline M. (Bates) Reed, November 29, 1888. C. L. Reed's family were Ida M. (Mrs. Charles Stoodly), George P., of Minnesota, Nellie C. (Mrs. B. A. Smith), Bert W., of California, Nellie A., who died in infancy, and Emma May (Mrs. Walter G. Bunce).
Geeorge Carpenter, son of George and Nancy (Dean) Carpenter, was born in Sandy Creek, N. Y., in 1838. He was reared upon a farm and subsequently learned the painters' trade, at which he worked in Belleville and Theresa, and in 1865 located in Adams. He married Lucia C., daughter of Ambrose and Narcissa A. (Burr) Potter, of this town, in 1866, by whom he has a daughter, Mary L., born in 1868, a student of music, and a son, Frank P., born in 1875.
Charles C. Case was born in Ellisburgh in 1831, and at the age of 16 years became a member of the Methodist Church. He became a conductor on the Rome, Watertown and Ogensburg railroad and removed to Watertown. In 1860 he became general freight agent, and in 1865 assistant superintendent of the road. He married Esther A., daughter of Winslow and Marina S. (Strickland) Green, in 1859, by whom he had two sons, William C. and H. Alton. William C. married Mary Eldred and lives in Adams. Charles C. Case died in 1878. His widow resides in Adams village.
Saunders B. Chapman was born in Westerly, R. I., in 1804. When three months old his parents brought him to Northern New York. He married Elizabeth Lanphire in 1834, and they had three daughters, viz.: Mary E. (Mrs. John Williams), of Adams; Susan M., who died at the age of 23 years; and Elvira M., who died at the age of nine years. Mr. Chapman is a farmer, and resides on road 26 in this town.
James M. Cleveland -- The history of the town of Adams and of Jefferson County would not be complete, nor should it be written, without prominent mention of James M. Cleveland, an old and nearly life-long reside of Adams. Mr. Cleveland was born in 1820, from a family early identified in the history of New England, and is a direct descendant of Moses Cleveland, who came from Suffolk County, England, in 1635, and settled in Woburn, Mass., as appears by the custom house lists and militia rolls at that date; and from said Moses Cleveland can be directly traced, as descendants, all person bearing the Cleveland name in the Northern states. Mr. Cleveland was educated for and commenced life as a farmer, and up to 1851 was successful in his vocation, and by industry and foresight paying for and owning a fine property in the town of Adams. He was always a thinking man, not only devising schemes for his own advancement, but for the benefit of the agricultural community in which he lived. He was a prominent and valuable member of the agricultural societies of Jefferson County, and was always looked up to as a man of excellent judgment. In 1851 he conceived the idea and established at Adams the business of growing peas, beans, and other seeds for seed purposes for the domestic and foreign markets. This was the first business of the kind ever established in Northern New York, and proved of incalculable value to the farmers of his town and of Jefferson County, whose lands were so well adapted to the cultivation of such products, and furnished them a fine income from their farms, as hundreds can testify who have paid for homes out of this industry alone. Mr. Cleveland conducted this business from 1851 to 1877, when the business was removed to Cape Vincent, and subsequently to New York city. As long as Mr. Cleveland was interested in the business it was one of the finest enterprises in the state, and from which he retired with a competency. The farmers of this county will for years to come gratefully remember Mr. Cleveland for the advantages he furnished them, and the fair dealing which characterized his transactions with them. Few men, and certainly no other man in this section of the country, have been endowed with the love of the beautiful and taste for adornment of nature in an equal degree with Mr. Cleveland. His house and grounds where he resides are arranged with the finest idea of symmetry, and a veritable paradise of flowers greets the eye of the visitor in their season, and his neighbors and friends delight in viewing his collections and asking his advice in laying out and beautifying their homes. The people of the village of Adams have fully appreciated this quality on the streets and improvements of different kinds affecting the public. Mr. Cleveland has always borne an enviable reputation for honesty, integrity, and charity. He has been foremost in the advancement of all the interests which pertain to the best advantage of his village and the community in which he lives. All of the religious societies of Adams have in time of need met with liberal donations from him, and the cause of education has received substantial tokens of his liberality from the competence which he enjoys. The poor and needy have cause in every instance to thank him for kindly remembrance in their adversity, and on all occasions speak of him in terms of praise. In rounding out a life full of business activity Mr. Cleveland can rest assured that he is and will be gratefully remembered by his fellow citizens. In politics Mr. Cleveland has always been a Democrat, and though not in any sense a politician, has always stood well in the councils of his party. In 1880 he was nominated for member of Assembly for the First Assembly District of Jefferson County; and though the district was hopelessly Republican, he made a very successful canvass and lead his ticket throughout the district, showing in an eminent degree his personal popularity. Though the general public attest to his worth, yet it is in his own village that he is most appreciated. Eight times have the citizens of Adams elected him to the presidency of the village, and each time by majorities that have made his election almost unanimous; showing their appreciation of his judgment and conservative actions in controlling their municipal affairs. Mr. Cleveland is a man of culture and information, which has been acquired by contact with men and affairs, augmented by wide experience in travel and research. At various times in his life, on business and pleasure, he has visited nearly all the cities of note in his own country, and traveled through the South and on the Pacific coast, visiting all the places of interest, thus acquiring an inexhaustible store of knowledge upon topics connected with his country which it is a pleasure to hear him recount, enjoyed by his neighbors and friends.
Captain W. A. Collins, son of John and Elizabeth (Mumery) Collins, was born in the parish of Saltwood, Kent, England, in 1814. In youth he was apprenticed; but not liking the situation he ran away when 14 years old and went to sea, and for 20 years followed a seafaring life. He then came to America and was a sailor on the great lakes till near the close of his life. In 1853 he married Almira W. Wiles, and located in the village of Smithville. He invented the Collins elastic truss, and also a medical compound, which his widow is still engaged in manufacturing, at Smithville. Mr. Collins died January 9, 1886.
Heman Colton, son of John, was born in Otsego County in 1787. At the age of 19 years he came to Adams and worked at clearing land, and soon saved enough from his earnings to purchase a farm of 163 acres, which is now a part of the present Colton farm in the northern part of the town. He married Lucina, daughter of Israel and Mary (Calkins) Warriner, by whom he had two sons and six daughters, viz.: Emily, Heman, Child, Chauncey, Mary, Julia Ann, Marie A., and Emily M. Chauncey Colton was born in this town in 1817, and was reared upon a farm. He married Angeline R., daughter of Roger and Lydia (Perry) Read, in 1838, and they had a son and two daughters, viz.: Emily L. (Mrs. Edward Rounds), Julia E. (Mrs. J. O. Brown), and Willis T. The latter was born January 1, 1855, and was educated at Hungerford Collegiate Institute. He married Martha, only daughter of Isaac Kellogg, September 18, 1878, and they have one son, Clifford, born June 30, 1884. Mr. Colton occupies the old homestead of 500 acres.
Henry H. Comins, son of James and Alletta (Munn) Comins, was born in Jefferson County in 1814, and was reared upon a farm. He married Nancy, daughter of John and Grata (Ashley) Merriam, of Adams, in 1840, by whom he had three sons and one daughter, viz.: Francis M., born in 1841, who resides in Adams; George H., also of Adams; Wright N., of Illinois; and Caroline M., who died young. Mr. Comins located in Adams in 1837, and engaged in staging and farming. George H., born in 1843, was reared upon a farm and subsequently learned the carpenters' trade. He married Sarah, daughter of L. J. and Sarah (Dudley) Burr, of Watertown, in 1881, by whom he has a son, Carlton B., born in 1885. George H. and his father reside in Adams on Cemetery street.
James E. Cook, son of James and Millie (Dickey) Cook, was born in Ellisburgh in 1830. He traveled and sold jewelry for three years, and for a like number of years was engaged in the grocery trade in Henderson. In 1865 he came to Adams, and with J. O. Brown engaged in the grocery trade, which was continued until 1873, when Mr. Cook withdrew and opened a grocery and crockery store, which business was sold to Babcock & Wright in 1889. In 1863 he married Mary Grant, by whom he has one daughter, Florella W. (Mrs. Dr. C. W. Howard), of Watertown.
Rev. William Cooke, son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Davies) Cooke, was born in Shrewsbury, Shropshire, Eng., in 1853, and was educated in the free grammar schools. He came to America in 1870, studied theology at St. Andrew's Divinity School, at Syracuse, N. Y., and began ministerial work as rector of the Protestant Episcopal Church at Oriskany Falls, N. Y., in 1880, where he remained till 1886, when he located in Adams and became a rector of Emanuel Church, which position he still retains. In 1881 he married Mary Alice, daughter of Charles and Nancy (Dickenson) Wicks, of Paris, Oneida County, by whom he has a son and two daughters, viz.: William W., Mary Elizabeth, and Bessie Lincoln.
William H. Coon, of this town, son of William and Roxana (Wilcox) Coon, was born in the town of Henderson in 1846, and was reared upon a farm. He married Rosetta O., daughter of Paul and Hannah (Jones) Greene, in 1867, and they have a son, Clifford H., born July 2, 1872.
Miles Cooper, with his wife, Asenath Cowles, came from Durham, Conn., to this town in 1803, and located in the village, where he took up 100 hundred [sic] acres of land and built a log house on the site of S. D. Hungerford's house. Here they resided until 1811, when he built the first frame house in the village. They had three sons and six daughters, of whom Lodema (Mrs. Chauncey Bedway) died in Ellisburgh; Ira died in Adams; Polly (Mrs. Appleton H. McKee) died in Sackets Harbor in 1832; John C. died in Adams in 1877; Sarah (Mrs. George Hollister) died in Rochester; Eliza and Nancy died in childhood; George resides in Adams; Nancy is the widow of Eben Cowles. George Cooper was born in 1811, in the log house built by his father. He married Roxiana, daughter of George and Polly (Brodock) Doxtater, in 1835, and they have had three sons and three daughters, viz.: Mariette (Mrs. J. J. Stillman) and George D., of Adams; Antoinette (Mrs. D. P. Fairbanks), of Oswego; Emmett B., of Nebraska; Charles C., of Adams; and Elizabeth, who died in infancy. Mr. Cooper was a prosperous farmer and once owned 640 acres of land, 100 cows, and 1,200 sheep. He built the Cooper House block. Charles C. Cooper, born August 12, 1848, lived in this town and kept the Cooper House. He married Henriette S., daughter of Nathaniel and Juliette (Schuyler) Louis, in 1873, and they have two daughters -- Clara E., born Decmeber 7, 1874, and Florence E., born December 2, 1876. Mr. Charles C. Cooper and his father reside in this town on road 64.
Austin H. Coughlan, son of George L. and Sarah (Waite) Coughlan, was born in Champion, N. Y., in 1817. In 1843 he married Jane Henry, who died in 1849. In 1852 he married Marion Sherwin, of Brattleboro, Vt., and soon after engaged in mercantile business in New York city. In 1860 he located in Adams, but continued his business in New York until 1874. His wife died in 1875, and the same year he married Helen N., daughter of Thomas A. and Vienna (Carr) Rice, and widow of H. H. Butterworth, by whom he has a son, George R., born in 1877. By his second wife he has a daughter, Mrs. W. R. Brown, of Adams. Mr. Coughlan has been an active member, trustee, and elder of the Presbyterian Church, and a generous supporter of benevolent enterprises. His third wife, Helen, was born in Fairfield, Herkimer County, graduated from the academy in 1860, and became preceptress of Pulaski Academy, under the principalship of Harvey H. Butterworth, a graduate of Hamilton College, whom she married August 28, 1864. Mr. Butterworth died October 16th following. Mrs. Butterworth remained in Pulaski Academy two years, was preceptress of Hungerford Collegiate Institute in 1866-67, was in Fairfield from 1867 to 1870, when she again became preceptress of Hungerford Collegiate Institute, with Prof. Watkins as principal, which position she now occupies with Orlo B. Rhodes as principal.
Rev. Junius J. Cowles, son of Junius A. and Elizabeth (Gardner) Cowles, was born in Florence, Oneida County, N. Y., in 1851, and was educated in Rome High school and Whitestown Seminary, graduating from the latter school in 1871, and in 1875 from Hamilton College. In 1879 he graduated from the Union Theological Seminary, and in the fall of the same year located in Huntington Valley, Pa. In 1884 he located in Fair Haven, N. Y., and in 1886 came to Adams, where he is now pastor of the Presbyterian Church. He married Mary Elmina, daughter of Almon and Frances E. (Wetmore) Wellman, in 1878, and they have three sons and two daughters, viz.: J. Atwood, born July 10, 1880; E. Haviland, born April 21, 1882; Francis W., born March 15, 1884; Pansy Elizabeth Gardner, born July 1, 1885; and Mary Marguerite, born April 8, 1887.
Samuel Davis was born in New Haven, Conn., in 1769, and about 1808 located in Redfield, Oswego County, N. Y. He married Eunice Hinman, by whom he had one son and five daughters, viz.: Eliza A. (Mrs. Nathan Cook); Sarah A. (Mrs. Archibald Barrett); Eunice (Mrs. G. W. Clark), of Wisconsin; Emily D. (Mrs. David Malloy), of Adams; Lucy Ann (Mrs. Rufus Petrie), also of Adams; and Samuel. The latter, born in 1821, came to Adams in 1835. He married, first, Lucinda Harrington, in 1847, and second, Emma P., daughter of Hamilton and Malvina (Richards) Dickinson, by whom he had two children, viz.: Grant W., born in 1868, and Viola Adelia, born in 1870. His wife died in 1875, and for his third wife he married Lucy M., daughter of Alva and Olive (Taylor) Stevens, November 18, 1875. Mr. Davis is a farmer on road 37, near Adams Center.
Martin E. Dealing, son of Benjamin D. and Sarah S. (Green) Dealing, was born in 1847, and in 1851 came with his parents to Adams. August 15, 1864, when only 17 years of age, he enlisted in Co. C, 186th Regt. N. Y. Vols., and served to the close of the war. He returned to Adams and engaged in the grocery business, and also worked at the carpenters' trade. In 1882, with his father, he built the mills now occupied as grist, turning, and cider-mills. Mr. Dealing married Charlotte E., daughter of Moses and Sarah E. (Munson) Keller, in 1866, by whom he has five children, viz.: Lulu, a school teacher, Lilliam L., Clinton, Ina E., and Alice Belle.
Richard A. Dennis, son of Thomas Z. and Harriet (Phillips) Dennis, was born in Cicero, Onondaga County, in 1868. He learned the barbers' trade, and in 1888 located in Adams, where in 1889, he bought the Horth block, on South Main street, where his business is located. January 29, 1889, he married Mary Lucinda, daughter of George L. and Lucinda (Potter) Carpenter, and they reside on Spring street.
George Doxtater, son of Peter and Elizabeth (Cunningham) Doxtater, born in 1780, came to Adams in 1802. He married Mary Brodoch, in 1809, by whom he had three sons and five daughters, viz.: Polly, Betsey, Sally, Nancy, Chauncey, Roxiana, George W., and Peter B.
Peter Doxtater, Sr., son of George, was born in 1750. He came from German Flats, Herkimer County, with his wife and six children, about 1802, and located where Howard Brainard now lives. He married Elizabeth Cunningham, and their children were George, William, John, Peter, Betsey, and Elijah. They came up the Mohawk River in a flat-boat, purchased supplies in Utica, then proceeded to Oneida Lake, thence through the Oswego River to Lake Ontario, along the shore of which they slowly worked their way to Big Sandy Creek. There were only a few families in Adams at this time, and Mr. Doxtater's was the first deed given in the town. In his youth Mr. Doxtater was captured, with three brothers and sisters, and taken to Canada, where he remained three years. He died in Adams in 1842, aged 92 years. Peter, Jr., born in 1792, married Lorany, daughter of Ebenezer and Innocent (Hulburt) Blackstone, of New Hartford, Oneida County, in 1816, and they reared three daughters, viz.: Delia A. (Mrs. James G. Pease), Sophronia (Mrs. R. E. Smiley), of Watertown, and Elizabeth C. (Mrs. S. N. Bond), of Adams. Mr. Doxtater died in 1875. Mr. and Mrs. J. G. Pease were married in 1841. They had three sons and one daughter, viz.: De Alton J., who died in Minnesota in 1885; Brayton R., who died in Peru, S. A., in 1868, aged 20 years; Enoch, who died in 1853, aged two years; and Lizzie E. Mrs. Peter Doxtater, Jr., at the age of 88 years, resides with her daughter, Mrs. Pease, on North Main Street.
John H. Dryden was born in Liverpool England, whence he immigrated to America when a boy, and located in Watertown and engaged in farming. He married Lydia M. Clark, by whom he had five sons and two daughters. His son, George H., born in 1846, at the age of 15 years enlisted in Co. K, 94th N. Y. Vols., in November, 1861, and participated in the battles of Bull Run, South Mountain, Antietam, Fredericksburg, Chancellorsvlle, Gettysburg, and others, and served to the close of the war. He married Salina, daughter of Henry White, in 1867, and they have had children as follows: Ella L., Burt J., Jennie M. (deceased), Pearly G., and Lewis G. Mr. Dryden is a barber and resides in Adams Center village.
De Alton Dwight was born in Henderson, Jefferson
County, September 25, 1825. He was the son of Dr. Pelatiah Dwight, who
was born in Somers, Conn., January 14, 1785, and died in Adams, N. Y.,
December 12, 1882, aged nearly 98 years. His genealogy is traceble directly
back through seven generations to John Dwight, the settler who came over
from England in 1634 or 1635 and settled in Dedham, Mass. From him it is
believed sprung all who bear that honored name in this country -- a name
traceable far back in English history. His mother, Azubah (Redway) Dwight,
daughter of Preserved and Azubah Redway, was born in Galway, N. Y.,
August 25, 1792, was married in Adams, N. Y., July 9, 1822, and died in
Henderson, April 6, 1871, aged 78 years. The family records show his
ancestors to have been very long-lived; his father, Pelatiah, attaining the age of
98, his grandfather, Alpheus Dwight, 85, his grandmother, Phanna (Prentice)
Dwight, 97, and his great grandmother, Dorothy (Sexton) Prentice, 99.
The subject of this sketch engaged in his first business enterprise in 1847, with
his brother-in-law, Dea. Horace Brown, in Henderson, where they carried on a
lumbering business successfully together for five years. Having sold this he
purchased another, in 1857, in Belleville, where he lived four years. He then
moved to Adams, in 1861, and purchased a book store, just five days before
the firing upon Fort Sumter. There was also connected with the store a news
agency, where were sold, during the excitement of the war, as many as 200
daily papers to this small village of 1,400 inhabitants and the surrounding
country, as evidence that Adams was not behind in eagerness for news from
the front in those perilous times. Mr. Dwight still continues the same
business. In 1842 he purchased a part of his grandfather Redway's farm,
which he still continues to own. In 1887 and 1888 he took a deep interest, in
common with many others, in the material interests of the village of Adams,
and gave liberally to various measures for their advancement. With others he
formed the Adams Furniture and Manufacturing Company (limited), and was
one of its first directors and president of the board. He also, with others, upon
its completion, purchased the plant of the Adams Electric Light and Power
Company (limited), and was the first president of the company. He was an
incorporator of the Adams National Bank, and one of the directors during its
existence, from January 1, 1883, until its dissolution, in 1889. He was also
one of the founders of the Farmers National Bank of Adams, which
commenced business July 8, 1889, and is now one of its directors.
Mr. Dwight's connections with the educational interests of the county began in 1852, as a teacher of common schools, an occupation which he continued for four successive winters, during which time he was elected commissioner of the common schools of the town of Henderson. During his term of office he assisted in establishing the first teachers' institute in the county, which was held at Watertown, October 9, 1854. In 1882, when the Hungerford Collegiate Institute of Adams was discontinued, he, with his devoted wife, purchased the Cooper House, and rented it to the newly-incorporated Adams Collegiate Institute, which organization afterwards bought the building. He was one of its first trustees, and after the removal to Albany of Dr. A. B. Watkins, the first president of its board of trustees, Mr. Dwight was elected to that honorable position, which he has held to the present time (1890).
The institute to which Gen. S. D. Hungerford gave so liberally of his time and money, and which, passing through various misfortunes, had finally been sold, was brought back in 1884 by Mr. and Mrs. Dwight, in cooperation with the trustees and citizens, and was offered to the Presbyterian denomination upon their giving it a suitable endowment to insure its becoming a permanent Christian school. This noble object has been the desire of their lives, and they fondly hope to see it accomplished.
When the Washingtonian temperance movement first swept over this county, in 1842 and '43, Mr. Dwight became one of its ardent supporters, and has ever since been a persistent temperance worker. In Henderson he was secretary of the temperance society durings its existence. In the spring of 1856 he was a charter member of the Good Templars Lodge in Adams, and one of its leading officers during its entire existence. He was also one of the founders of the Jefferson County Lodge of Good Templars, and held his full share of the offices, both as secretary and chief templar. During the "Reform Club" effort he was also fully identified with the cause. In the endeavor to carry and enforce the local option law he has been among its best supporters in the town, having lectured in nearly every school-house and church in Adams, and in many of the adjoining towns, laboring side by side with that devoted apostle of temperance, Rev. Silas W. Hatch.
June 4, 1854, Mr. Dwight was married to Catherine S., daughter of Dea. Amasa and Sarah (Hopkins) Brown, (daughter of Judge Jesse Hopkins, of Henderson) who has since been the sharer of his toils and the comfort of his life. She united with the Congregational Church at Smithville at the early age of 11 years. During her married life she has been connected with the same church with her husband, to which it has been her chief delight to give her best services and liberal gifts. The devotion and generosity extended to the institute in its time of need saved it and enabled it to maintain its high rank, and gave it its present sound financial standing free from debt. Mr. and Mrs. Dwight's daughter, Ella M., married Charles H. Wardwell, an estimable young man of Adams, who carries on a successful business in growing seeds. They have two little sons, their eldest son, Dwight, having died during the summer of 1889.
Mr. Dwight united with the Odd Fellows Lodge in its early history, filling all its offices and sharing all its honors. But to the church of God his greatest efforts have been put forth. He indulged a hope in the Saviour at the early age of 17, and being of Puritan stock naturally gravitated to the Presbyterian Church. There being no such church in his native town he united with the one in Adams, and has since remained a member thereof except during his stay in Belleville, where he united with the Presbyterian Church and was elected a ruling elder, which office he has continued to fill in the church in Adams since May, 1867. The Sabbath-school has also received a large share of his attention, having filled the offices of teacher and superintendent during the most of the time since his connection with the church. Mr. and Mrs. Dwight have always been earnest and active promoters of the religious, educational, and social interests of the community, and now in the maturity of their lives their works do follow them. Their hearts are still warm with sympathy, and their purses open for every good cause.
H. K. Eggleston, son of Hector and Isabell (Lee) Eggleston, was born in Henderson. He married Nettie R., daughter of Oren and Maria (Dewey) Read, in 1874, and they have a son, Cadwell R., born February 16, 1877. Mr. Eggleston is a carpenter and farmer, and resides in Adams Center.
Daniel Fawdry was born in Oxfordshire, England, in 1810. He married Susannah Fox, in 1834, and the same year immigrated to America. He had born to him four sons and three daughters, viz.: Henry, of Albany, N. Y.; John, of Hounsfield; David, a physician, of Barnes Corners; Elizabeth (Mrs. Jackson Squires), of Adams, James, of Hounsfield; Mary Ann, of Adams; and Carrie. The latter married Walter B. Kenyon, in 1874, by whom she has had two sons, viz.: Frank H., who was born in 1875 and died May 4, 1883, and David D., born in 1880. Mr. Kenyon was born in 1852, and is a farmer in this town. Daniel Fawdry died in January, 1880, and his wife in December of the same year.
John C. Fox, son of Samuel and Lucy (Williams) Fox, was born in Adams in 1821, and was educated at Adams Academy. He married Annis, daughter of Lorenzo and Virtue (Sheldon) Rhodes, September 6, 1846, by whom he had two sons, viz.: John J., who was born June 17, 1860; and died January 13, 1867; and William E., born November 29, 1864. The latter was educated at Adams Collegiate Institute, graduating with the class of 1882. He engaged as a clerk in the drug store of W. H. Withington, of Adams, and in January, 1888, purchased the business, which he still continues. John C. Fox died February 15, 1872. His widow and son William E. reside in Adams, on Factory street.
George Frasier and wife, Caroline, of Scotch descent, located in Hounsfield about 1815. He was a seafaring man, and for many years a captain on the great lakes, where he lost his life. Of his children, William V., a ship carpenter, died in Sacramento, Cal. George, born in Hounsfield, November 16, 1818, was reared upon a farm, learned the milling business, and in 1842 purchased a grist-mill in the town of Philadelphia, in this county, and there remained in the milling and mercantile business about 18 years. He came to Adams in 1860 and purchased a grist and saw-mill, which businees he conducted until about 1878. In 1879 he bought the flouring-mill at Brownville, and in 1883 purchased the woolen factory property at the same place, both of which he has since disposed of. He owns farms aggregating 840 acres. He married, first, in 1840, Sophia R., daughter of David and Relief (Root) Wilder, who died in 1869. For his second wife he married Cinderella, daughter of Truman and Eunice (Witter) Root, May 21, 1872, by whom he has a son, George H. H., born December 19, 1873. Mr. Frasier resides on Spring street, Adams village.
Samuel Fuller, with his wife, Ann Phillips, came to Adams in 1830 and located on the farm now occupied by Harrison Fuller. William, son of Samuel, was born in 1813, and died in Adams in 1885. He married Martha, daughter of Heman and Dorotha (Kent) Keep, of this town, September 10, 1837, who died in 1884. Their children were one son and three daughters, viz.: Mary (Mrs. John Snell) and Harrison, of this town; Diana L., who died in 1863, aged 12 years; and Annettie, who died in 1862, aged four years. Harrison Fuller, born in 1845, was educated at Union Academy. He married Ella, daughter of David F. and Mary A. (Eygabroad) Snell, of Watertown, in 1865, and they have one daughter, Mattie Naomi, born February 26, 1881. Mr. Fuller is an extensive farmer and resides on road 34.
Rufus D. Gardner, son of Peleg W. and Julia (Wait) Gardner, was born in Rodman in 1848, and was reared upon a farm. He married Ophelia J., daughter of Henry and Caroline (Dodge) Lewis, in 1871, by whom he has a son, Lewis L., born in 1875. Mr. Gardner came to Adams in 1877, and in 1882 built the Gardner block. He is a dealer in musical instruments and sewing machines.
John J. Gilbert, son of Moses and Sarah (Perry) Gilbert, was born in Watertown in 1859, and was reared upon a farm. He was educated in the schools of his native town. In 1882 he married Rose Ann, daughter of Henry and Hannah Lyons, by whom he has two children, Willie R. and Lena May. Mr. Gilbert is a farmer in this town.
Albert G. Glass, son of Lorenzo and Sophia (Greenley) Glass, was born in Watertown in 1840, and was reared upon a farm. He married Alzina K., daughter of Samuel and Lucretia (Green) Crosby, in 1861, by whom he has had children as follows: Virgil A., born in 1867, died in 1872; Rosa E; Henry C., born in 1873; and Rena A., born in 1880. Mr. Glass came to this town in the spring of 1866, and engaged in mercantile pursuits at Adams Center in the spring of 1884. He enlisted in Co. B, 10th N. Y. Vols., and served to the close of the war.
Abram Green, from Connecticut, married Anna Bass, in 1793, and they had nine children, viz.: Stephen, who died in Ohio in 1833; Isaac; Cyrena (Mrs. Asa Copeland), who also died in Ohio; Zeruah (Mrs. Samuel Putnam), who died in Clayton; Servalla (Mrs. Able Tucker), who died in the town of Orleans; Abram, who died in Rodman; Ephraim, who died in Salt Lake City, Utah; Winslow, who died in Adams in 1881; and Nancy, who married William Rosa, of Watertown. Abram Green, born in 1804, located in Rodman with his parents when two years of age. He married Lucy, daughter of Charles and Cynthia (Pease) Cook, in 1833, by whom he had two children, viz.: Alma A. (Mrs. A. R. Cornwell), of Lorraine, and Charles A. The latter was born January 22, 1837, was reared upon his father's farm, and was educated at Union Academy, at Belleville. He married Matilda Elizabeth, daughter of Lorenzo and Aurilla (Jones) Green, January 17, 1866, by whom he has two daughters, viz.: Grace Lucy, born March 20, 1869, a student at Adams Collegiate Institute, and Nora H., also a student in the same school. Abram Green died August 3, 1876. Charles A. owns the homestead in Rodman, but has retired from farm life and resides on Church street, in Adams village.
Joseph Green, 2d, or "Dry Hill Joseph," as he was designated, was born in Berlin, Rensselaer County, February 26, 1785. He was a farmer by occupation. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Rev. Wells Kenyon, a Seventh Day Baptist, in 1803, and about 1806 located in Pinckney, Lewis County. His children were Wells K., born in 1807, died in Minnesota in 1887; Mary, who died young; Matthew S., who died in Lewis County in 1843; Eliza (Mrs. W. G. Quibell), born in 1815, now a resident of Adams Center; and Naomi (widow of James Witter), born in 1817, and Leonard R., who also reside in Adams Center. Joseph Green located in Rodman in 1814, and in 1818 came to this town. Leonard R. Green was born July 22, 1820. He married, first, Mary B. Potter, and second, Pearlie C., daughter of Albert G. and Euctia Y. (Wheeler) Burdick, of De Ruyter, N. Y., in 1867, by whom he had children as follows: Mary E., born June 16, 1868, died April 3, 1872; Francis L., born August 18, 1869, now a student at Alfred University, class of '91; Bessie P., born December 29, 1875; and Sarah L., born November 4, 1881. Mr. Green is a farmer and resides on Railroad street, Adams Center.
Lorenzo Green, son of Ethan and Mary (Chase) Green, was born in Brookfield, Madison County, in 1805. He was reared upon a farm, and when young removed to Pinckney, Lewis County, and about 1847 located in Adams. He married Aurilla, daughter of William and Betsey (Randall) Jones, by whom he had nine children, viz.: Coralin (Mrs. Heman White), of Adams; Eleanor, of Adams Center; Matilda E. (Mrs. Charles A. Green), of Adams; Homer, who died in Adams Center in 1884; Lucy, who married Elijah Crandall, of Nebraska; Philo, who resides in Nebraska; Jason, who died young; Celestine, of Adams Center; and Denio, of Watertown.
O. De Grasse Greene, the present county clerk, is a native of the town of Adams, where he was born in 1831. His parents, Thomas H. and Ann M. (Sweet) Greene, were married in Jefferson County and subsequently removed to Oswego County, and finally to Illinois. His father was a lawyer, and died in 1876, in Peoria, Ill. The subject of this sketch is a contractor and builder by trade, and has always resided in the town of Adams. He is a resident of Adams Center, where he still continues his business. Mr. Greene has served his town as supervisor for nine years. He was elected clerk of the county in 1885, and is now serving his second term.
William Gussman, son of Frederick, was born in Hesse- Darmstadt, Germany, in 1849, and in 1853 emigrated to America and located at Britton, Conn. He was educated in New Haven, Conn., at Yale Theological Seminary, and began ministerial work at the age of 19 years. November 13, 1873, he was ordained pastor of Essex Baptist Church, where he remained three years, and afterwards did missionary work in Michigan. In 1878 be became pastor of North Haven Baptist Church, and subsequently was located in Ticonderoga, N. Y., Essex, Vt., and Brooklyn, Conn., until 1887, when he became pastor of the First Baptist Church in Adams Center. In 1876 he married Florence N., daughter of A. J. and Mary (Frisbie) Hayward, of Essex, N. Y., by whom he has a son and two daughters, viz.: Mary Hayward, born in 1877; E. Dryden, born in 1882; and Grace Florence, born in 1885. Mr. Gussman resides on road 36, in this town.
Austin Pratt Hale, son of Stephen and Sally (Maynard) Hale, was born in Colerain, Franklin County, Mass., April 27, 1812. He studied medicine with Dr. Ash, of Frankfort, N. Y., was associated with Dr. Samuel Douglass and practiced at Sandy Creek, N. Y., and in 1840 located at Adams Center. He married Hannah K., daughter of Dea. Amos and Hannah (Hinman-Griswold) Kent, of Redfield, Oswego County, December 5, 1843, by whom he had one son, Austin K. Dr. Hale practiced his profession at Adams Center until 1863, when he removed to Adams village. He possessed a genial dispostion, and died December 2, 1878, respected by all who knew him. His widow resides on Park street, in Adams village. Austin K. Hale was born in 1850. He studied medicine with his father and graduated from the university at Ann Arbor, Mich., in 1874. He married Eudora, daughter of Andrew and Angeline (Morrell) De Forest, in 1874, and they have one daughter, Mary L., born in 1875. Dr. Hale has an extensive practice, and is located on Park street, in Adams village.
Giles A. Hall, son of Calvin and Cynthia S. (Whitney) Hall, was born in Belleville, in the town of Ellisburgh, in 1842. At the age of 20 years he enlisted in Co. L, 10th N. Y. H. A., and served to the close of the war. He married Maria H., daughter of William C. and Caroline (Morgan) Woodhouse, in 1863, and their children are Jennie A. (Mrs. Nelson D. Shaw), of Rome, N. Y., Lulu B., and Beula M. Mr. Hall is a painter and resides in Adams Center.
James Hammond, son of Elnathan and Clarissa (Perrigo) Hammond, was born in Vermont, whence he removed to Adams when a young man, and learned the coopers' trade. He married Lois, daughter of John Sargent, and six children were born to them, namely: Edwin M., of Adams Center; Sarah R. (Mrs. Solomon Sidmore), of Rodman; Clark and Lincoln, who died in infancy; and Willis H. and Lewis G., of Syracuse. Edwin M. Hammond was born in Adams Center in 1850, and when 20 years of age engaged in railroading. He married Nellie H., daughter of Leonard and Lydia (Dual) Smith, in 1875, by whom he had a daughter, Lois Blanche, born September 19, 1878. His wife died in April, 1879. For his second wife he married, November 16, 1887, Nettie R., daughter of Stephen and Sarah Jane (Grummons) Irons, of Adams.
G. W. Hannahs, son of William and Elizabeth (Avery) Hannahs, was born in Watertown in 1852. In early manhood he engaged as a book-keeper in Woster Sherman's bank, worked in Dunkirk for a short time, in 1872 was in the Merchants Bank in Watertown, where he remained several years, and subsequently became cashier of Adams National Bank and is now cashier of the Farmers National Bank. He married Helen, daughter of John Watt, in 1876, and they have two sons, Harry W., born in 1877, and Raymond C., born in April, 1884.
Simeon Heath, who was born in Somers, Conn., in 1763, married Elizabeth Harrington in 1782. Of their 10 children, Morrison was born in Salem, N. Y., in 1789. He married Sally Smith, in 1811, and their children were Elias, Louisa, Lucy, and Levi. Elias was born in 1811 and died in 1887. He married Ann, daughter of Charles and Amy (Sheldon) Green, in 1837, and their children were Charles M. and Andrew S., of Adams. Charles M. was born September 17, 1838, and was educated in the schools of his native town. He married Gertrude E., daughter of Luman and Elizabeth (Pierce) Arms, February 2, 1865, by whom he has two daughters, Lucy M. and Lena J. August 21, 1862, Mr. Heath enlisted in Co. H, 10th N. Y. H. A. He is now a dealer in musical instruments.
Palmer Hodge was born in Schenectady, N. Y., in 1776, and at an early day located in Denmark, Lewis County. He married Sarah Wilson, by whom he had four sons and six daughters, of whom Martin L. Hodge was born in 1841, and in 1875 came to Adams and engaged in harnessmaking and carriage trimming, which business he still follows. He married Josephine, daughter of William and Amelia (Allen) Spink, and they have had two children, viz.: Robbie M., born in 1878, and Laura L., who died February 8, 1878, aged five years.
Alfred A. Hodges, a native of Rodman, married Betsey Ann Freeman, by whom he had children as follows: Joshua F., who resides in Chicago; A. De Alton, who was drowned in the lake in 1879; Calvin A., of Adams Center; Mary J., who died at the age of nine years; Benjamin F., of Frankfort; Willie M., of Florida; Charles E., of Chicago; and Clark A. and Alva A., of Adams. Clark A. Hodges, born in 1862, married Eunice, daughter of L. H. and Hannah (Cronk) Perkins, in 1879, and their children are Libbie May, Amos, De Alton, Donald F., and Anna M. Mr. Hodges is a farmer in this town.
Waterman Horth, son of Francis and Lucy (Dixon) Horth, was born in Washington County, N. Y., in 1795. The elder Horth did service in the Revolutionary war. Waterman learned the saddlery and trunkmaking business. He married Lucy Foster, by whom he had nine children, of whom La Fayette resides in Watertown, and George W. and Charles in Adams. George W. Horth was born in Henderson in 1828, and early in life learned the shoemakers' trade. He married Lucy A.,daughter of Archibald and Fanny (Horth) Brown, in 1849, and they have a son, Eddie C., born in 1852. Eddie C. married Amelia Jennings, and they have a daughter, Nellie G., born in 1877, and a son, Leon A., born in 1879. August 11, 1862, George W. Horth enlisted in Co. B, 10th N. Y. H. A., participated in the battle before Petersburg, was wounded in the left hand by a minie-ball, and served to the close of the war. He came to Adams in 1877, and engaged in the boot and shoe business.
Isaac L. Hunt, son of William L. and Betsey (Calkins) Hunt, was born in Hillsdale, Columbia County, N. Y., December 5, 1808. In 1813 he removed to Westmoreland with his parents. He was educated at Clinton and Cazenovia academies, and taught in the last mentioned school, including the divinity department, in 1832, '33, and '34, and in the last named year entered the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal Church, at Lowell, N. Y., in which profession he has since done faithful work. In 1846 he became presiding elder, which position he filled for eight years. He also held that office in 1862, '63, and '64. July 31, 1839, he married Mary, daughter of David and Betsey (Adams) Smith, who bore him one son and two daughters, viz.: Mary, born August 2, 1840, Isaac W., and Almira L., who died young. His wife died in 1843, and in 1844 he married, for his second wife, Judith, daughter of Cornelius and Hannah (Coons) Lamberson, of Salisbury, Herkimer County, by whom he had two sons and three daughters, viz.: Cornelius W., who died in infancy; Harriet R., who married Rev. Wells E. Reynolds; Hon. Isaac L., of Adams; Helen Octavia; and Ida J., who died young. Some years ago Mr. Hunt located permanently in Adams. He possessed a strong physical organization and great mental vigor, which enabled him to perform an immense amount of labor in his Master's vineyard. No matter how inclement the weather, he was always at his post. There are probably few ministers living who have traveled more miles or preached more sermons than "Father" Hunt.
William L. Hunt removed from Massachusetts to Westmoreland, N. Y., in 1813. He married Betsey Calkins, and they had ten children, viz.: William, Polly, Betsey, Elijah, Hattie, Almira, Isaac L., Jacob (now a physician in Utica), Luther, and Ward W. He was a tanner and currier and farmer, and died in 1843. His son, Ward W., born in 1817, graduated from Hamilton College in 1843, taught school several terms, and entered the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal Church in 1848, in which profession he did efficient service for more than 30 years, when failing health compelled him to retire. He married, first, Clarissa, daughter of David and Betsey (Adams) Smith, of Adams, in 1845, who bore him a son, William, now a Methodist Episcopal clergyman, and a daughter, Clarissa, who died young. Mrs. Hunt died in 1848, and for his second wife he married, in 1850, Elizabeth A. Smith, a sister of his first wife, by whom he had four sons and one daughter, of whom Frances A., Frederick, and Arthur died young, and Frances E. and Edward S. reside in this town. Mr. Hunt died in Adams, September 7, 1889, aged 72 years, six months, and 28 days. Edward S., born in 1860, attended Hungerford Collegiate Institute in 1876, '77, and '78, and Syracuse University from 1879 to 1883. He studied law with L. E. Pruyne, of Adams, in 1883, and with C. D. Adams, of Utica, in 1884-85, was admitted to the bar in November 1885, and is now practicing his profession in Adams village.
Christopher Huson, son of John and Sibyl (Weatherbee) Huson, was born in Oriskany, N. Y., in 1801. He married Sarah, daughter of Jonathan Waldo, by whom he had four sons and six daughters, of whom there are now living Isaiah A., of Jersey City, N. Y.; Arthur B. and J. Burt, of Adams; and Emma C. (Mrs. Atwood W. Ecla), of Michigan. Mr. Huson located in the town of Lorraine in 1826. Arthur B. Huson was born in 1835, and was reared upon a farm. He married Martha A., daughter of Daniel B., and Annette (Ingalls) Lockwood, in 1872. Their son, Dan B., was born in 1874, and a daughter, Laura A., in 1879. Mr. Huson purchased the Lockwood (formerly Totman) House, in Adams, in 1872, and kept the same until 1877, when he bought the brick hotel, now the Huson House, corner Main and Railroad streets, which he now occupies. Mrs. Huson died in 1889.
John Ivory came from Vermont and located in Henderson at an early day. He reared a large family of children, of whom Theophilus, born in 1807, was reared upon a farm. Theophilus married Julia, daughter of Henry Knapp, by whom he had six sons and one daughter, viz.: Emeline (Mrs. Christopher Wilder), of Henderson; Stratton, who also resides in Henderson; Frank, of Michigan; John W., of Adams; Theodore, of Henderson; De Witt C., of Adams; and Harrison, of Smithville. John W. Ivory was born June 7, 1842, and was reared upon a farm. In April, 1861, he enlisted in Co. C, 24th Regt. N. Y. Inf., and in the fall of 1863 re-enlisted in Co. H, 18th N. Y. Cav. He was promoted to corporal and then to sergeant, and served ot the close of the war. After the war he continued farming, until 1880, when he engaged in mercantile business, in which he still continues in Adams. Mr. Ivory is also engaged in breeding fine road and trotting horses. He married Amy, daughter of Benjamin S. and Mabel (Palmer) Gibbs, in 1873, and they have a son, Critt C., born February 14, 1874.
Herman Keep, with his wife, Dorotha Kent, and their children, Mary, Martha, and Henry, came to Adams in 1817, and located near the Center. After their removal to this town there was born to Mr. and Mrs. Keep one son, Bissell. Their daughter, Mary, married Wanton Kenyon and died in 1883. Martha married William Fuller and died in 1884. Henry married Emma A., daughter of Norris M. Woodruff, by whom he had a daughter, Emma G. (Mrs. Halsey), of New York city. Henry Keep died in 1869. His widow is Mrs. Judge Sly, of New York city.
Jonathan Lamson, with his family of six sons and four daughters, located in the town of Lorraine in 1804, where he died in 1806. Job, son of Jonathan, was born in 1792 and died in 1868. He was reared upon a farm, became prominent in town affairs, and was a member of the legislature in 1843. He married Amanda Steadman, of Lorraine. Of their seven children, only two, Malvina (Mrs. A. F. Thornton), of Columbus, Ohio, and Daniel W., who was born in Lorraine in 1836, are living. The latter was reared upon a farm, and in 1860 married Frances C., daughter of Thomas and Esther (Green) Wood, by whom he has one daughter, Jennie L., who married P. D. Aldrich, a professor of music in the University of Boston. Mr. Lamson came to Adams in 1858, and was engaged in the boot and shoe business for 13 years. He now conducts a meat market.
Luftus J. Landon, son of Luftus S. and Charlotte (Smith) Landon, was born in Ellisburgh. He learned the wool-carding and cloth-dressing trades, at which he worked several years. He kept hotel five years, then learned the blacksmiths' trade, and in 1867 removed to Adams and engaged in that business, which he continues. He also kept the institute boarding-house two years. He married Hannah, daughter of William and Eliza Roach, in 1867, by whom he has three children, viz.: Charlotte A., William S., and Bessie A. Mr. Landon is foreman of the Star Hose Company.
Sylvanus Lockwood was born in Vermont in 1796, whence he removed to Rural Hill, in Ellisburgh, in 1823. He married Martha, daughter of Caleb and Azuba (Cooley) Lyman, of Lorraine, in 1823. He was a farmer and died in 1841. They had two sons and one daughter, viz.: Abigail (Mrs. Albert Ingalls), who died in Wisconsin in 1878; Daniel B., who resides in Adams; and Sylvanus L., of Maine. Daniel B. Lockwood was born September 9, 1828, and spent his early life upon a farm. He married Annette, daughter of Edmund and Charlotte (Dickinson) Ingalls, May 21, 1848, by whom he has two daughters, viz.: Ella L. (Mrs. Orlando Wright) and Martha A. (Mrs. Arthur B. Huson), of Adams. Mr. Lockwood is a farmer and liveryman, and resides on South Main street.
Alfred Lord, son of Truman and Betsey (Randall) Lord, was born in Hounsfield in 1828, and was reared upon a farm. He married Emma Jane, daughter of Harry and Amanda (Ives) White, of Watertown, in 1856, and their children are Seth J., born in 1859; Fred H., born in 1865; Minnie Adel; and Fanny Emma. Mr. Lord is proprietor of the hotel and livery at the depot, in Adams Center, where he located in 1887.
Marquis D. Manville, born in this county in 1833, was educated in the district schools, and commenced the study of dentistry in 1860. He enlisted in Co. I, 10th N. Y. H. A., as a musician, December 25, 1863, and served to the close of the war. After the war he established a dental business in Adams village, which he still continues. He married, first, Sarah M., daughter of Russell M. and Olivia (Smith) Jones, and after her decease Elisabeth M., daughter of J. L. Hall, who bore him two sons and one daughter, of whom George P., born in 1863, graduated from the New York College of Dentistry in 1886, and now resides in Camden, N. Y.
Mark Marriott, son of John, was born in England in 1801. He married Ann Nunn, immigrated to America in 1830, and in 1831 located in Rome, N. Y. Of his seven sons and four daughters, one son, Morris, was born in 1830, and at the age of 19 years was apprenticed to the blacksmiths' trade. He settled in Adams, and in 1854 married Harriet Grover, who bore him four children -- Leola, Charles A., Ada G., and Alice I. His wife died in 1862, and for his second wife he married, in 1864, Elizabeth Ann, daughter of Elias and Betsey (Clark) Jennings, by whom he has four sons and two daughters, viz.: Eugene A., born in 1867; Brayton L., born in 1867; Mary L., born in 1869; Harriet A., born in 1871; George M., born in 1874; and Fred B., born in 1877.
T. V. Maxon, son of Joseph S. and Elizabeth (Vars) Maxon, was born in Petersburg, N. Y., March 26, 1823, and was reared upon a farm. He married Alma A., daughter of Benjamin and Maria (Jones) Hull, in 1849, and soon after moved to this town and located on road 59. He had born to him two daughters, viz.: Maria E. (Mrs. W. S. Tifft), of Buffalo, and Helen H. (Mrs. William W. Hart). Mrs. Maxon died in 1869. Mr. Maxon is a wholesale seed grower and breeder of Percheron horses and Jersey cattle.
John Monroe, son of Archibald and Mary (Whitten) Munroe [sic], was born in Whitestown, Oneida County, N. Y., August 2, 1829. He worked in the cotton-mills a number of years and learned the machinists' trade. He married Cornelia, daughter of Stephen and Fanny (Miller) Renne, of East Durham, N. Y., May 7, 1855, who bore him two sons and two daughters. The only one living, Julia Antoinette, was born July 18, 1863. She graduated from Adams Collegiate Institute in the class of '86. Mr. Monroe located in Ellisburgh in 1867, and engaged in farming, and in 1883 came to Adams vllage, where he is a machinist.
Robert Muzzy, son of Captain Robert Muzzy, removed with his father from Dublin, N. H., when a boy, first locating in Richland, N. Y., and subsequently in Adams. He married Henriette Boyden, of Guilford, in 1827, and they had four sons, Alman, born in 1828, now a resident of Illinois; Francis M. and Joseph B., of Adams; and Lester, of Henderson. Joseph B., born in 1832, married, first, Henriette L., daughter of Harry and Lucinda (Close) Coon, in 1858, by whom he had children as follows: Robert H., of Kansas, Byron J., John B., and Henriette L. His first wife died in 1875 and in 1876 he married Sophia E., daughter of Ambrose and Eveline Hall, by whom he has two children, Rolla J. and Elvan B. Mr. Muzzy is a cheesemaker and farmer, and resides in this town on road 43.
Rev. John F. Nelson, son of Benjamin F. and Emily (Clark) Nelson, was born in Marshall County, Virginia, in 1850, and spent his early life upon a farm. His education was commenced in the common schools, and in 1883 he graduated from Dennison University of Ohio, and the same year became pastor of the Baptist Church at Adams Center, being ordained July 26. In 1875 he married Carrie A., daughter of Rev. Jordan and Mary S. (Morris) Hall, of West Virginia, by whom he had two sons and one daughter, viz.: Herbert H., born in 1876; Alma Gertrude, born in 1879; and Howard O., born in 1883.
William H. Nickelson, son of Charles and Martha (Smith) Nickelson, was born in Lowville, Lewis County, in 1858. He was educated at Canton Union School, and the degree of A. M. was conferred upon him at St. Lawrence Univerity. He studied medicine with Drs. Hoag and Cole, of Canton, St. Lawrence County, and graudated from the Hahnemann Medical College of Chicago, Ill., in 1881, and commenced practice in Adams in the spring of the same year. He married Lizzie B., daughter of C. K. and Susan (Phillips) Stone, and they have a daughter, Mary Elizabeth, born August 28, 1884.
Sylvester G. Nott, son of Reuben, was born in Somerville, St. Lawrence County, in 1836, was reared upon a farm, and was educated in Fairfield Academy. He located in Watertown, and with his brother kept the American Hotel for several years. He married Emma P., daughter of James M. and Levina (Bates) Cleveland, October 11, 1864, by whom he had two sons and three daughters, viz.: Carlyle C., born in 1866, now a resident of Columbus, Ohio; Carrie Adel, Olive Levina, Bennet C., and Hattie Cornelia. Mr. Nott removed his family to Colorado in 1869, where he conducted a cattle ranch for seven years, when he returned to Adams and is now engaged as a commercial traveler.
Hinckley J. Page, son of Luther and Sally (Jones) Page, was born in Fenner, Madison County, in 1823. At the age of eight years he removed with his parents to Florence, N. Y., and in 1838 located in Ellisburgh. He married Mary Frances Griffing, daughter of Ebenezer L. and Emily A. (Kellogg) Griffing, by whom he has a daughter, Fanny Georgiana, and a son, Charles H. Mr. Page is a farmer.
Giles Parker, son of Cratus and Olive (Fuller) Parker, was born in Watertown in 1812, and about 1835 came to Adams and located on the farm now occupied by Royal Fuller. He married Rhoda, daughter of Samuel Fuller, February 7, 1836, by whom he had three sons and three daughters, viz.: Maryette, born in 1838, died in 1844; Frances, born in 1843, died in 1845; Livingstone, born in 1845, who resides in Wisconsin; Newton M., who was born August 15, 1847; Diana C., born in 1850, died in 1851; and Samuel F., born in 1853, who resides in Rodman.
Newton M. Parker, born in 1847, was reared upon a farm, and taught school several terms. He married Sarah E., daughter of Nathan R. and Percy (Fuller) Talcott, by whom he has two sons, viz.: Giles F., born March 20, 1878, and George F., born January 16, 1887. Mr. Parker is a farmer and occupies the homestead in this town.
Alvin Parmlee was born in 1804, and when young removed to Springfield, N. Y. He studied for the ministry and in 1833 began his labors as a Presbyterian clergyman. In 1851 he came to Jefferson County, where he died in 1869. He married Violetta, daughter of William and Jerusha (Parmlee) Hamilton, in 1826, who bore him three sons and nine daughters, of whom there are now living Anna E. (Mrs. L. B. Woodward), of Adams, and Sarah H. (Mrs. De Voe), Alvin H., and Alice C. (Mrs. H. Reynolds) of New York. Anna E. was educated at Springfield Female Seminary. She engaged in teaching in Middlefield, Otsego County, in 1842, and there remained 10 years. She was preceptress of Jefferson County Institute, at Watertown, four years, and at Aurora four years. She then taught in Mannsville, and in 1870 became a teacher in Hungerford Collegiate Institute, where she has since been engaged. She married L. B. Woodward, in 1859, by whom she had two sons and two daughters, viz.: William H., of New York, and Hattie E., Alice V., and Willard, of whom the last two named reside in Adams with their mother.
Captain Pardon Payne, born in Rhode Island in 1788, was a captain in the War of 1812, and commanded at Sackets Harbor. He was a farmer and about 1806 located in Gouverneur, N. Y. He married Betsey, daughter of Kendall and Betsey (Hale) Boutwell, in 1826, who bore him eight sons and four daughters, of whom Isaac W. Payne was born in 1838. He was reared upon a farm, and learned the coopers', carpenters', and plumbers' trades. He married Ethelaide V., daughter of Henry and Maria (Mitchel) Miles, in 1860, by whom he has a daughter, Amy M., and a son, Seymour H. Mr. Payne located in Adams in 1883, and is now superintendent of Adams water works.
Clarendon Phillips, son of Silas and Lucretia (Scott) Phillips, was born in Massachusetts in 1797, and about 1805 removed with his parents to the town of Rutland, in this county, where he was reared upon a farm. He married Barbara A., daughter of Peter Wilcox, by whom he had three sons and four daughters, viz.: Lucretia, Hiram, Elizabeth, David, Nelson, Katie, and Sarah. Nelson Phillips of this town was born in Wilna in 1843, and was reared upon a farm in Le Ray. He married Phebe, daughter of Benjamin F. and Polly (Sweet) Lee, widow of Homer Green. Clarendon Phillips died in 1856.
Seymour H. Pitcher, son of Daniel and Rebecca (Rice) Pitcher, was born April 18, 1826. He was reared upon a farm and was educated at Lowville Academy. At the age of seventeen years he engaged as clerk with Baldwin & Wood, and at the age of 23 went to Illinois and engaged in farming, which he continued until 1863, when he came to Adams and bought a half interest in the Adams flouring-mill, of which he became sole owner in 1877. He married Clarinda, daughter of Levi and Martha (Gleason) Butterfield, who bore him a daughter, Carrie A. (Mrs. F. A. Brandt), and died in 1863. For his second wife he married Delia M., daughter of Whitfield Crane, who died in 1874. He married for his third wife Arvilla M., daughter of Truman and Eunice (Witter) Root, in 1875, by whom he has a son, H. Earl, born in 1883. Mr. Pitcher has been president of Adams village and trustee of the public schools. He is now doing an extensive milling business.
George Potter, son of George and Mary (Stillman) Potter, was born in Hopkinton, R. I., in 1799. He followed the occupations of carpenter and joiner, carriagemaker, and farmer. About 1818 he emigrated to Brookfield, Madison County, N. Y. He married Eliza, daughter of Deacon Samuel P. and Polly (Stillman) Burdick, in 1823, by whom he had children as follows: Charles, of Plainfield, N. J.; Mary B. (Mrs. L. R. Green), who died in Adams Center; Dr. Correll D., who resides in Adams Center; Delia (Mrs. George W. Gardner), also of Adams Center; and Emeline (Mrs. N. L. Burdick), who died in West Edmeston, Otsego County. Correll D. Potter was born in West Edmeston in 1827. He was educated at Adams and Rodman Academy, and in 1849 graduated from the medical department of the University of New York. He practiced in the villages of East Rodman, South Rutland, and Adams, and in 1853 located in Adams Center, where he still resides. He married Electra, daughter of David and Sally (Sedgewick) Ayres, in 1855, and they have adopted three children, viz.: Susie, Evaline, and William D. Ayres, children of Daniel and grandchildren of David Ayres. Dr. Potter was appointed postmaster in 1861, and continued in office fourteen years. He also conducted a drug store. In 1871 he originated the idea and commenced the manufacture of handy package dyes. In 1882 he became associate editor of Outlook, Sabbath Quarterly,and Light of Home.
Asa B. Prentice, son of Allen and Elvira (Babcock) Prentice, was born in Cattaraugus County, N. Y., July 29, 1838. He was reared upon a farm and graduated from Albion (Wis.) Academy in 1861. He taught in this academy several years and served as superintendent of schools in Dane County, Wis., in 1862-63. He engaged in ministerial work and was ordained as a Seventh Day Baptist clergyman in 1864. He married Marion W., daughter of George S. Green, in 1865, and in 1868 became pastor of the Seventh Day Baptist Church at Adams Center, where he has continued his labors. He has had two sons and two daughters, viz.: Lucy A. (Mrs. A. T. Stillman), of Scott, N. Y.; Mary L., who died in childhood; Henry W., who was born in 1873; and Alfred C., born in 1875. Mr. Prentice married for his second wife Mary A., daughter of Ira and Nancy (Perry) Green, of Verona, in 1877.
Gilbert C. Pryor, son of Chauncey and Amanda (Bassett) Pryor, was born in Watertown in 1829, and was reared upon a farm. He married Margaret C., daughter of Lodwick Salisbury, of Theresa, and located in Adams. Mrs. Pryor died in April, 1885.
Abner L. Ramsdell, son of Moses and Maria (Lapham) Ramsdell, was born in Oneida County in 1805. He followed the occupation of blacksmith. He married Lucinda, daughter of Ezra and Nancy (Ballou) Healy, in 1828, and they had six sons and two daughters, of whom Erwin F. was born in Ellisburgh in 1840, and was educated in the schools of this town. He studied law with A. Maxon, was admitted to the bar in 1870, and in 1871 entered into partnership with Paul C. Maxon. He was special county judge from 1878 to 1887, and is now (1889) secretary of the local board of health, and resides on Grove street in Adams village. Mr. Ramsdell married Anna, daughter of Dr. Lyman and Julia (Arthur) Buckley, in 1864, by whom he has a daughter, Mary, born, August 29, 1866, who graduated from Adams Collegiate Institute, and is now a landscape painter and teacher.
Orlo B. Rhodes, son of Schuyler and Amanda M. (Sherman) Rhodes, was born in Scriba, Oswego County, January 14, 1849. He was reared upon a farm, prepared for college in the Oswego High school, and graduated from Brown University in the class of 1870, and the same year became vice-principal of Hungerford Collegiate Institute, with Prof. A. B. Watkins, principal. He continued in this capacity until 1876, when he became joint principal, which position he held until 1878. He then engaged in teaching in Morgan Park, Ill., and in the fall of 1882 returned to Adams and became principal of Adams Collegiate Institute, which position he now holds. He married Alice G., daughter of Simeon and Mary O. (Rice) Osborne, in 1873, and she died June 5, 1884. He has a daughter, Alice Bertha, born in 1884. Mr. Rhodes resides at the institute.
Albert Rice, son of Jason, was born in 1806, and when quite young located in Watertown. In early manhood he became interested in military affairs, and passed through the different ranks to that of general, which office he filled with honor and ability. He was a worthy citizen, a loving husband and father, and a faithful friend. He married, first, Rebecca, daughter of Dea. Jonathan Davis, by whom he had two sons, Jason and George. His second wife was a sister of his first wife and they had six daughters, namely: May E., Jennette E., Alice A., Carrie R., Ella A., and Mary E. The latter married Alton M. Sanford and occupies the old homestead on road 6, corner 25.
Joseph Ripley, son of Abram and Roxey Ann (Webb) Ripley, was born in Massachusetts and located in Adams early in the present century, and engaged in farming. Of his seven children, Eunice married Eaton North, of Rodman; Orrin resides in Adams; Rachel married Asa Knight, of Sandy Creek; Laura married David Duncan, of Adams; William and Rufus died in this town; Pamelia married Ephraim Kendall and also died here. Rufus Ripley was born in Adams in 1817, and was reared upon a farm. he was educated at Hungerford (now Adams) Collegiate Institute, and subsequently was engaged in the grocery and bakery business in Michigan, until 1840, when he returned to this town. He married Vermelia E., daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Gordon) Wells, November 14, 1840, and they had a son and two daughters, namely: Adelbert D., of Adams; Alice Jane, who died in infancy; and Emma E., born May 29, 1845, who died April 3, 1882. Mr. Ripley was at different times a farmer, a boot and shoe dealer, and a furniture dealer. He died June 25, 1883, respected by all. Adelbert D. Ripley was born November 25, 1841, and engaged in business with his father. He married Clara Amanda, daughter of William H. and Clarissa (Averil) Gray, July 8, 1867, and they had a son and three daughters, namely: Mary E., born December 5, 1870; Nellie G., born December 23, 1874; Alice M., born November 25, 1876; and Rufus W., born February 5, 1879. His wife died suddenly, of heart disease, June 2, 1887. In 1866 Mr. Ripley engaged in the boot and shoe trade, and in 1884 built the Ripley block. He resides in Adams village on North Main street.
Isaac Rogers, with his wife, Rhoda Chase, came from Hoosick, N. Y., to Adams, about 1835, and located on the farm now occupied by Elisha Rogers. Of his children, Elisha, born in 1797, married, first, Eunice Nichols, and second, Hannah, daughter of Blenerhassett and Nancy (Robinson) Cronk. His children were Elisha and Eunice (Mrs. Fred Hodges), of Adams; Libbie, who died at the age of six years; and David, who died in infancy. Elisha Rogers, 1st, died in 1883. Elisha, Jr., born in 1860, married Cornelia, daughter of William and Amelia (Allen) Spink, in 1879, by whom he has four children, viz.: Isaac, Maud, Edward, and Roger. Mr. Rogers is a farmer, and resides on the homestead on road 47 in this town.
Isaac Saunders, son of Isaac, married Watie, daughter of William and Penelopie (Gardner) Hiscock. Their son, Isaac, was born in Petersburg, N. Y., September 9, 1812, and was reared upon a farm. He married Martha A., daughter of Ezra S. and Sarah (Maxon) Holmes, of Petersburg, in 1835, and soon after removed to Troy, N. Y., and engaged in the grocery business. In 1841 he came to this town and built a flax-mill on the creek about two and one-half miles below Adams village. In 1850 he went to California, and in 1851 returned and engaged in fishing on the lake, in which business he continued 28 years. In 1864, after the death of his father, he bought the homestead on which he now resides, on road 52. He had born to him five sons, viz.: Charles H., of Grand Rapids, Mich.; Isaac, who resides in Adams village; Ezra S. H., who lives with his father on the homestead; and Alfred F. and Thomas F. (twins), who were born May 4, 1853, and were educated at Hungerford Collegiate Institute. They studied law, and were admitted to the bar, Albert F., at Buffalo, June 13, 1879, and Thomas F., at Syracuse, in January 1880. They are partners in the practice of law, and are located on Church street, in Adams village.
Thomas P. Saunders was born in Petersburg, N. Y., in 1821, and in 1836 came to Adams. He was educated at Belleville, N. Y., studied law with Judge William C. Thompson, and was admitted to the bar in 1851. He has been extensively engaged in building in Adams, and also in lumbering and farming. He married Lorana D., daughter of Andrew and Sally (Crane) Blackstone, in 1850, and they have an adopted daughter, Rena L. Mr. Saunders resides on Church street, in Adams.
Michael Schrodt, a native of Germany, married Mary Eckert and came to America about 1835. He had born to him children as follows: John, who resides in Brownville; Philip, who died at the age of 18 years; Mary (Mrs. Walter Scott), of Sanford's Corners; Martin, of Brownville; Michael, Jr., of Adams Center; George, of Rutland; and Hattie, who died at the age of 13 years. Michael, Jr., was born in 1854, and at the age of 16 years was apprenticed to the blacksmiths' trade. In 1884 he located at Adams Center, where he works at his trade. He married Adelaide, daughter of Joseph and Jennie (Cross) Lehan, of Watertown, and they have a son, Herman H., born August 2, 1886.
Stephen Shaw was born in Canada in 1833, and was reared upon a farm. He removed to Watertown and was employed by N. M. Woodruff, and afterwards became a farmer. He married Barbara M., daughter of David and Mary (Eggabroad) Snell, in 1857, by whom he had three sons, viz.: George G., who died at the age of three years; David S., born in 1861; and Fred S., born in 1866. Mr. Shaw died in 1881.
Rev. Thomas Simpkins was born in Bedfordshire, Eng., March 14, 1843, and was educated and entered the ministry in his native country. August 12, 1867, he united in marriage with Susan Whitfield, of Bedfordshire, and in 1870 came to this country with his wife and two children -- George W. and Charles W. In August of the same year he became pastor of the Baptist Church at Mount Bethel, N. J., and has held pastorates in Liberty and Great Bend, Pa., and Worcester and Johnstown, N. Y., and in January, 1886, became pastor of the church in Adams. He has had born to him four children, viz.: George W., at Sandy, Bedfordshire, Eng., May 11, 1868; Edith R., who was born in Worcester, N. Y., July 28, 1878; Henry L., born July 19, 1880; and Charles W., who was drowned in Cayadutta Creek, Johnstown, N. Y., July 10, 1882, aged 12 years. Mr. Simpkins is pastor of the Baptist Church in Adams.
David S. Snell, son of Frederick, was born in Manheim, Herkimer County, in 1812, and was reared upon a farm. He married Mary Ann, daughter of John and Barbara Eggabroad, in 1832, by whom he had children as follows: Sylvester, of Watertown; John A. D., of Adams; Julia A. (Mrs. A. M. Gillett), of Watertown; Barbara M. (Mrs. Stephen Shaw), of Adams Center; Mary C. (Mrs. Ira Fish), of Watertown; Elvira (Mrs. Joshua Snell), of Little Falls, N. Y.; Ellen (Mrs. Harrison Fuller), of Adams; David M., of Watertown; Emma A., who died in 1863, aged 10 years; and Clara M. (Mrs. Seward Holden), of Watertown. John A. D. Snell was born in 1835. He married Mary Dorotha, daughter of William and Martha (Keep) Fuller, in 1858, who bore him a son and three daughters, of whom Diana Annette died in 1878, aged 15 years; Martha Keep (Mrs. Rolla B. Heath) resides in Adams Center; and Ella Fuller died in infancy. J. A. D. Snell came to Jefferson County when two years of age and has since resided here. William D. Snell, born in 1860, married Julia, daughter of George and Eliza (Peck) Hawes, of Adams Center, in 1877, and their children are Nettie May, John H., Helen Gracie, Mattie K., Willie D., and Bertha Eliza. Mr. Snell resides in Adams Center.
Edward D. Spicer, son of Joseph and Content (Potter) Spicer, was born in Hopkinton, R. I., in 1828. His mother was a daughter of George and Mary (Stillman) Potter. Mr. Spicer was reared upon a farm, and was educated in De Ruyter, N. Y. He married, first, Eliza W., daughter of George and Sophia (Stillman) Wells, in 1853, who bore him three sons and three daughters, viz.: Ella M. (Mrs. George F. Conant), of Camden, N. Y.; William d., who died in 1879, aged 23 years; Charles E., born in 1861, who resides in Adams; Emma and Emeline (twins), who died in infancy; and George T., born in 1868. His wife died in 1878, and for his second wife Mr. Spicer married Harriet, daughter of Luman and Esther (Free) Nichols, and widow of Jacob Bellinger, in 1879, by whom he has a son, Ralph Harold, born in 1886. Mrs. Spicer had a daughter, Nettie, by her first husband. Mr. Spicer is a farmer and gardener.
Daniel Stanley, son of Jonathan, was born in Rutland, Vt., in 1775, and about 1804 removed to Rutland, in this county. He married, first, Rebecca Taylor, in 1799, and their children were Sally (Mrs. Evelyn Williams), who died in Ohio in 1887; and Harriet (Mrs. Russell Phillips), who died in 1837. Mrs. Stanley died in 1805, and in 1809 he married Esther Scott, by whom he had five sons and three daughters, viz.: John M., of Adams; Rebecca A. (Mrs. F. B. Hollet), deceased; Fayette, also of Adams; Alexander D., who died in 1885; Orestes M., Viola O. (Mrs. Asa Lyon), and Rollin S., also of Adams; and Ellen A., who died young. Daniel Stanely located in this town where Orestes M. now resides. Alexander D. Stanley, born in 1819, married Mary Benjamin, by whom he had three sons, viz.: De Forest, born in 1847; Charles B., born in 1852; and Homer D., born in 1859. De Forest, who was reared on a farm, married Florence A., daughter of Percival and Catharine (Walrath) Bullard, of Theresa, in 1871, by whom he has one son and two daughters, viz.: Frank B., born in 1875; Lillian P., born in 1879; and Mary C., born in 1886. Charles B. Stanley married Jennie, daughter of H. S. and Betsey (Snell) Howard, in 1885, and they have a daughter, Blanche, born in 1886. He is a hop grower and proprietor of the Valley Stock Farm, on road 20, where he breeds fine trotting horses.
Fayette Stanley, born in 1816, was reared upon his father's farm. He married Caroline Sophia, daughter of Michael and Lucy (Beal) Huntington, September 6, 1849, by whom he had three daughters, viz.: Lucy Evangeline, born August 18, 1852, married Albert A. Robbins, September 21, 1873; Kate Esther, born August 9, 1854, married Dow B. York, in 1873; and Mary Elizabeth, born April 13, 1856, resides with her parents. Mr. Stanley is proprietor of the Smithville cheese factory, and resides on Maple street, in Smithville.
John J. Stillman, son of John and Mary (Enos) Stillman, was born in Unadilla Forks, N. Y., in 1836. He became a clerk and subsequently engaged in business for himself in Rome, N. Y. About 1850 he came to Adams and was employed as clerk in J. H. Whipple's store. He married Mariette, daughter of George and Roxiana (Doxtater) Cooper, in 1868, and they have two daughters, viz.: Henrietta, a student in Adams Collegiate Institute, class of 1889, and Grace C., who resides at home.
Perly D. Stone, son of Jacob, married Harriet Kellogg, and in 1814 came to Adams and engaged in the manufacture of furniture. He also engaged in undertaking, in which business he continued for more than 50 years. He had born to him two sons and one daughter, viz.: Artimesia (Mrs. S. A. Mariam), of Rochester; Cyrus K., of Adams; and George B., of Winchendon, Mass. Cyrus K. Stone was born in Adams, May 13, 1825. When 14 years of age he engaged as clerk in a dry goods store at Oswego, and there remained several years. About 1850 he removed to Philadelphia and did an extensive business in publishing county, state, and city maps, and atlases. In 1864 he published a geographical atlas of Jefferson County. He subsequently returned to Adams and engaged as a dealer in coal, seeds, and produce. He married Susan, daughter of Capt. Richard Phillips, and they had three children, viz.: Elizabeth B. (Mrs. Dr. William H. Nickelson), of Adams; Mary C. (Mrs. William H. Gillman), also of Adams; and George P. Mr. Stone resides on Railroad street.
George D. Sullivan was born in Waddington, St. Lawrence County, in 1841. He learned the wagonmakers' trade, and in 1859 came to Adams Center. He enlisted in Co. C, 186th Regt. N. Y. Vols., and was in Hatch's Run, Petersburg, and other battles. He married Diadama E., daughter of Frank C. and Mary Ann (Moulton) Wilder, in 1862, and their children were Anna G., who died in 1877, aged fourteen years; George A., who died in infancy; Geogia A., born in 1875; and Willie A., born in 1877.
Hiram Taylor, from Galway, N. Y. was one of the early settlers of Ellisburgh, where he took up lands at Taylor Settlement and engaged in farming. He married Jerusha Hinman, and they had five sons and four daughters, of whom Newton Albert, and Cyrus are deceased; Joseph resides in Adams; Frederick in California; Adaline married F. Ransom, of Colorado Springs; Mary A. married William Grout, of Fort Wyne, Ind., Cornelia married A. G. Place and lives in Oswego County; Fanny married Hiram Allen, of Pierrepont Manor. Cyrus Taylor was born in Ellisburgh in 1815. He was an exemplary Christian, a member of the Presbyterian Church, and died in Adams in 1875. He was a tanner by trade. He married Amanda, daughter of Nathaniel Atridge, and they had five children, namely: Helen M. (widow of M. V. Barney), of Colorado; Don G., of Vermont; Angie Rose (Mrs. Hiram Lanphere), of Valley Falls; De Elbert, of Adams; and Emma, who married Albert Frith and died at the age of 21 years. De Elbert Taylor was born October 26, 1846, was reared upon a farm, attended Belleville Union Academy, and subsequently taught school. He married Medora A., daughter of Daniel and Elvira (Loomis) Boomer, October 13, 1869, and they have a son, Herbert, born September 4, 1870. Mr. Taylor located in Adams in 1872.
Sylvester J. Taylor, son of Jeremiah and Amanda (Presley) Taylor, was a native of Sandy Creek. He married Eliza, daughter of Hiram and Anna (Ouderkirk) Moore, by whom he had one son and two daughters, namely: Monford H., of Adams; Ida (Mrs. James Martin), of Oswego; and Leona S., of Albion. Mr. Taylor served in the late war as second lieutenant of Co. E, 147th Regt. Vol. Inf., and was killed in the battle of Gettysburg. Monford H. Taylor was born in Sandy Creek, October 8, 1858. He married Nellie, daughter of John and Dora C. (Vaughn) Hitter, April 8, 1888, and is now engaged in the marble and granite business with Isaac G. Puffer, at Adams.
Albert G. Thomas, son of John, was born in Vermont in 1819, and about 1850 came to Adams and located on the farm now occupied by his son, Eli S. He married Nancy Shelding, by whom he had four sons and one daughter, of whom Albert M. and Eli S. reside in this town, and Eddie P. in Kansas. Eli S., born in 1860, married Anna, daughter of Garret and Josephine (Simmons) Palmeter, in 1880, and they have one daughter, Maude Lillian, born in 1883.
William Thomas, one of the early pioneers of Adams, left Halifax, Vt., in March, 1801, with his wife, seven sons, and two daughters, traveling with an ox team and sled, to seek a home in the then "far west." They came via Boonville and Lowville, the journey, a portion of which was through the trackless wilderness, occupying 25 days. Their children were Benjamin, who died in Orleans County; Ira A., who died in Adams in 1859; Lucinda (Mrs. Samuel Hubbard), who died in Clayton; Joel, who died at the age of 90 years; James, Polly (Mrs. Elihu Putnam), Ezra, and William, who died in this town. Ira A. Thomas, born in 1779, married Lucy Allen, of Vermont, in 1799, and their children were Eunice (Mrs. D. Walker), Lois (Mrs. Ezra Putnam), Ruth, Lucy (Mrs. Rev. David Walker), Ira A., Jr., and Capt. Lewis N. The latter was born on the homestead in this town in 1818, and was educated at Cazenovia Academy. He married Abbie, daughter of James and Abbie (Thurston) Searles, in 1838, by whom he had two sons, Sanford S. and William H. S. Capt. Thomas was accidentally killed by the cross-bar of his barn door being blown against his head, August 24, 1863. William H. S. Thomas, born in 1840, married, first, Fanny J., daughter of John M. and Philamelia (Stoddard) Searls, in 1868, who died in 1876. In 1880 he married Mary A., daughter of James and Ann (Erwin) Gregg, by whom he has two sons and one daughter, viz.: Lewis N., Ira A., and Cynthia G. Mr. Thomas is a dairyman and farmer, and owns and occupies the homestead farm of 425 acres, on road 61, which has never been owned out of the Thomas family.
Calvin C. Totman, son of Thomas and Rachel (Rice) Totman, was born in Massachusetts in 1793, and when quite young removed with his parents to Washington County, N. Y. He was active and ambitious, and early turned his attention to farming. He married Charlotte, daughter of Isaac and Sarah (Eggleston) Washburn, in 1817, and she died in 1874. Soon after his marriage his house was burned and he lost all his household goods. He then removed to Lorraine, in 1818, and located on a farm of 300 acres known as the "Totman Gulf." His children were Relief (Mrs. Isaac Washburn); Eliza (Mrs. John Trafton), of Ontario County, N. Y.; Lottie (Mrs. Parley Brown), of Minnesota; Sarah E. (Mrs. Joseph Heath), of Ellisburgh; Calvin Munroe and Laura J. (Mrs. A. B. Gilbert), of this town. Mr. Totman bought the hotel in Adams, and his hospitality became known in all the country round about. He conducted the hotel for more than 20 years, when failing health necessitated his retirement. He died September 4, 1864. Calvin Munroe, born in 1830, spent his early life in Adams. He married Ursula, daughter of Dea. Clark and Peda (Robbins) Wilder, in 1854, by whom he had a son, Freddie M., who died in 1862, and three daughters, viz.: Kittie Adelle Hill, Caddie Estelle Wilder, and Birdie Belle Robbins. Isaac Washburn, father of Mrs. Calvin C. Totman, born in 1809, was reared upon a farm in Exeter, Otsego County. He married Relief M. Totman, widow of Thomas Furguerson, in 1852, who survives him, and resides on Church street, in Adams village.
Gardner Towle, son of Perley, was born in Vermont, and when a young man located in the town of Ellisburgh and learned the masons' trade. About 1830 he took up a large tract of land in Lorraine and there built a saw-mill. He married Desire Spink, of Ellisburgh, and they had four children, of whom Ira N. and Gardner, Jr., reside in Lorraine. The latter married Electa, daughter of William McAuley, in 1852, and they reared four sons and four daughters, of whom Ernest E., Nathaniel, and Perley reside in this town. Ernest E. Towle was born November 2, 1853. November 24, 1886, he married Eda P., daughter of Frank and Polly (Turney) Fellows. He learned the marble and granite business in New York city, and is now engaged in that business in Adams village.
John Waite, a native of England, married Sarah Masters, by whom he had children as follows: William, Charlotte, George W., Sarah (Mrs. Philoren Jennings), Eliza (deceased), Levi, of Belleville, and Joseph, of Adams. George W. Waite, who was born in 1837, learned the tinsmiths' trade and engaged in the hardware business in Adams village, where he died in 1879. He married Anna, daughter of J. D. and Maria (Keller) Beyerle, by whom he had a son, Fred B., born in 1868, and a daughter, Flora M., born in 1874. Fred B. passed the Regents' examination when 12 years of age, graduated from Adams Collegiate Institute at the age of 15, and was a student in Hamilton College in the class of '88. January 28, 1888, Fred B., married Dora, daughter of John E. and Harriet H. (Daniels) Wilson.
Simon Wakefield, a native of Vermont, married Mittie Howard, and about 1810 located in Jefferson County. He served in the War of 1812 and participated in the battle of Sackets Harbor. He had born to him three sons and five daughters, of whom Emory, Ann (Mrs. Lyman Mills), and Alpheus reside in this town. Alpheus, born September 9, 1828, was reared upon a farm and learned the wagonmakers' trade. In the fall of 1864 he enlisted in Co. M, 20th N. Y. Cav., and served to the close of the war. He married, first, Ann Eliza, daughter of Benjamin Bliss, in 1855, by whom he had a son, Bliss C., born in 1856. For his second wife he married Clara Eliza, daughter of George and Adaline (Rogers) Whiting, in 1877. Mr. Wakefield is a millwright.
Newton M. Wardwell, son of Daniel and Hetty (Mann) Wardwell, was born in 1821. He clerked in his father's store for many years, and for several years was engaged in the hardware business in Rome, N. Y. At the breaking out of the civil war he enlisted in the Union army as commissary, with the rank of captain, and was subsequently brevetted major, serving two years. After his return from the war he engaged in the malt business in Adams. He married Elizabeth R., daughter of Frederick W. Jones and granddaughter of David Smith, in 1843, and they had six children, namely: Julia E (Mrs. Clark Kellogg), of Adams; Frederick W., who died in Utica in 1881; Emma, who married W. H. Kimball, of Canton, N. Y.; Charles H., of Adams; Henry D., who died in 1885; and Robert D., of Chicago. Mrs. Wardwell died in 1887. N. M. Wardwell and Son are now extensively engaged in the malting business in Adams. Charles H. Wardwell, born in 1855, married Ella M. Dwight, and they had three sons, C. Dwight, Frederick N., and Arthur K. C. Dwight died June 9, 1889, aged nine years. Mr. Wardwell is a wholesale seed grower and maltster, and resides on Spring street in Adams village.
Calvin Warriner, with his wife, Abiah, daughter of Roger and Lydia (Perry) Reed, came from Massachusetts and located in Adams about 1820. His children were Parley E. and Mary E. (Mrs. Eber L. Mansfield), of Iowa. Parley E., born on the homestead in 1827, was educated in the common schools and Jefferson County Institute. He married Sarah E., daughter of Moses L. and Demedicy (Scott) Ward, in 1861, by whom he has had one son and three daughters, viz.: Jennie M., Thomas R., Frances S. (deceased), and Sarah A. Mr. Warriner is a farmer and resides on road 8, corner of 9.
Lemuel Wheeler, who served his country faithfully during the whole of the Revolutionary war, was born in Concord, Mass., in 1755. He reared a family of 12 children, most of whom came to Jefferson County and located in the town of Lorraine, about 1816, and together took up a large tract of land. Eli died at Port Ontario; James died in Adams in 1863; Charlotte died in Adams in 1880; David died on the homestead at the age of 32 years; Mary (Mrs. Willard Wilder) died in Sandy Creek; Nancy died soon after attaining maturity. Deacon James Wheeler, born in 1800, located in Lorraine, and about 1852 removed to Adams, where he was engaged in the boot and shoe trade until his death, in 1863. He married Celinda, daughter of Nehemiah and Sarah (Henry) Tucker, born in 1822, by whom he had seven children, viz.: Samatha S., deceased; William H., who resides in Adams; Ashley H. and Freeman, who reside in Illinois; Catharine S., who died in Minnesota; Daniel, who served in the late war and was killed in the battle of Lookout Mountain, in 1863; and Celinda (Mrs. Foster Thomson), who resides in Adams. Mrs. Wheeler, who was a lineal descendant of Patrick Henry, died in 1879. William H. Wheeler, mentioned above, was born in Lorraine, August 17, 1824. He was reared upon a farm, and at the age of 22 years went west and taught school. In 1849 he came to Adams and engaged in the trade of carpenter and builder and dealer in lumber. He married, first, Sarah E. Wright in 1849. Their two children are deceased, and his wife died in 1853. For his second wife he married, in 1856, Innocent, daughter of Manning Blackstone, by whom he had a daughter, Clara Blackstone Wheeler, born in 1863. The latter was educated at Hungerford Collegiate Institute and in the art school in Syracuse. She was also a student in the Art League, in New York city, and became quite proficient in water colors, oil, portraits, and crayons. She died September 9, 1886, just as her hopes were brightest. Mr. Wheeler's second wife died in 1864, and for his third wife he married, in 1868, Annie, daughter of Nelson Green. He has been president of Adams village, and has been extensively engaged in building in Watertown, Adams, and in other villages. Daniel Wheeler, who was born in Lorraine, married Maria Gould, by whom he had six children. His son, Judson, was born in Lorraine, and at the age of 19 years went to California, where he amassed a large fortune, and where he now resides, in Placer County. Arvilla Wheeler married G. E. Penney and they have one son and two daughters, and reside at Ottawa, Ill.
Henry B. Whipple, Protestant Episcopal bishop of Minnesota, is a native of Adams, where he was born February 15, 1822. The eldest son of John H. Whipple, an early merchant here, Henry B. was also in early life a merchant and a politician; but loving the church and believing his duty lay in the ministry, he gave up a business life and began preparation for his life work. In 1847 he became a candidate for holy orders, and after pursuing a course of theological studies was ordained a deacon on August 17, 1849, in Trinity Church, Geneva, by Rt. Rev. W. H. De Lancey, D. D. His first charge was Zion Episcopal Church in Rome, N. Y., in 1849. On July 15, 1850, Rev. Mr. Whipple was ordained priest in Sackets Harbor by Bishop De Lancey. In 1857 he left Rome to assume the rectorship of the Church of the Holy Communion in Chicago. He was chosen bishop of Minnesota on June 30, 1859, and was consecrated in St. James, Church, Richmond, Va., October 13, 1859.
Matthew White and wife, Elizabeth (Given), emigrated to America from County Tyrone, Ireland, in 1801, and their son, John G. White, was born on board the ship Fair America, on the passage over. John G. was left an orphan at the age of 13 years, and was apprenticed out to learn the printers' trade, at Albany. In 1823 he engaged in mercantile business, and became interested in the West India Mercantile Co. In 1825 he engaged in the malting business at Albany, in which he continued the remainder of his life. He was a successful business man and acquired a large fortune. He died April 16, 1889, in his 88th year. In 1825 he married Hannah J., daughter of Elisha and Esther (Johnson) Putnam, and they had born to them 11 children--seven sons and four daughters. Rufus P. White, son of John G., was born in Albany, December 28, 1827. In his early years he assisted his father in the malting business, and with his brother, Matthew, established a line of trading vessels between Albany and Philadelphia. In 1855 he came to Adams and engaged in the malting business, and built the malt-house at the depot, where he did an extensive business until 1876. In 1859 he bought Maple Grove Place, and engaged in breeding fine trotting horses. He married Caroline, daughter of Frederick and Mary (Mesick) Van Wormer, of Albany, in 1848, and they had two sons and four daughters, namely: John G., who died young; Kate B., who married S. A. Potter in 1877, and has a son, Rufus P.; Carie, who married A. C. Northrup, and has three children; Sybelia L. (Mrs. R. B. Hungerford), of New York; Hannah J. and Florence A., who died in infancy; and Frank P., born in 1860, who married Lucinda Bennet in 1887. Mrs. White died in 1885, and for his second wife he married, May 21, 1889, Anna S., daughter of Henry W. North, and a widow of Dr. W. C. Tracy, of Brooklyn, N. Y.
John Williams, son of Joseph and Margaret (Saunders) Williams, born in Verona, Oneida County, in 1827, was reared upon a farm and learned the carpenters' trade. He married, first, Wealthy Clark, by whom he had two children -- Emma (Mrs. W. R. Agans) and Jay, of Watertown. Mrs. Williams died in 1859, and for his second wife he married Mary E., daughter of S. B. and Betsey (Lanphire) Chapman, in 1860, who has borne him children as follows: Samuel C., born in 1861, who was drowned May 30, 1881; Wealthy E. (Mrs. A. Overton), of Henderson; Susie A.; Jessie L.; Chester, born in 1872; and Alice, born in 1875. Mr. Williams located in Adams in 1879, and is a farmer.
Westwood, Carmi, Moses, and Jonathan Wright, sons of Joseph, who died at Deerfield, Mass., in 1793, came to Adams about 1802. Westwood located where his grandson, Edwin S. Wright, now resides; Carmi where Austin Sischo resides; and Moses on the Barret place, now owned by E. S. Wright. Westwood married Sarah Billings, by whom he had five sons and two daughters, of whom Cynthia married Ebenezer Blackstone; Elijah, Henry, and Stephen died in Adams; David died in Watertown; Sally married Joseph Woodman and died in Michigan; Stephen B., born in 1789, married Hannah, daughter of Jacob Kellogg, in 1814, and their children were Deborah, who married L. Patrick, of New York; Charles B., who died in Illinois; Harriet, who died in Adams in 1880; Louise, who married David De Wolf, of Sackets Harbor; and Edwin S., who was born on the homestead in 1828. The latter married Louise, daughter of J. K. and Mary Pierce Bartlett, in 1855, and they have two children, Ella W. (Mrs. Charles F. Lawrence), of Illinois, and Wilbur B. The latter, born in 1860, married Lena E., daughter of Loren and Mary (Curtis) Lawrence, December 15, 1886, and is now a dairyman and farmer and resides with his father on the homestead, which has always been owned by some member of the Wright family. The old house, built in 1803, is still standing, and some of the original shingles are still upon the roof.
Alfred H. York, son of Stephen and Artimesia (Fletcher) York, born in Adams, followed the dual occupation of carpenter and farmer. He married Betsey T., daughter of Elijah and Mabel (Thomson) Harrington, by whom he had three sons and two daughters, of whom two died in infancy; Stephen H. was born August 24, 1851, graduated from the New York Medical University, and now resides in California; Dow B. resides in Smithville; Hattie married, first, George Cooley, by whom she had two daughters, Mabel and Alice, and second, John Hock, and now resides in Colorado. Dow B. York, born October 17, 1853, was reared upon a farm, and was educated in Union Academy, at Belleville. He married Katie S., daughter of La Fayette and Caroline (Hunting) Stanley, November 2, 1873, and they have two daughters, Florence Stanley, born October 16, 1874, and Marion Fay, born October 20, 1881. Mr. York is postmaster at Smithville and resides on Maple street.
Return to Child's Jefferson County Gazetteer
Return to Town of Adams
Copyright 2016 Jefferson County NYGenWeb — a member of the NYGenWeb Project
If you have any questions or comments about this page, please contact,
County Co-Coordinator Nancy Dixon or
Co-Coordinator Bruce Coyne.
Return to Jefferson County Genweb Page