Luman Arms was born in Deerfield MA on 30 Aug 1796, son of Lemuel Arms. Lemuel moved to the State of NY in October 1804 and made a permanent settlement on the farm now owned by Elisha Rogers in the town of Adams. Luman Arms married Caroline Arms; she died 30 Nov 1836 and he married 2) on 8 July 1836 to Elizabeth C. Pierce. In 1827 he erected the hotel known as the Talcott House in which he kept a tavern for four years. He was for many years a builder and erected a school house and other public and private buildings.
George Babbitt was born at Rodman, Jefferson Co. NY on 20 Sept 1818, son of Deodatus Babbitt, who was born in Hadley MA in 1790 and came to Jefferson County at an early date. Deodatus Babbitt died in Jefferson Co in 1828. George's mother, Phoebe Strong Babbitt, was the daughter of Hon. Nathan Strong, who was one of the first settlers of Rodman, who was of Old Durham, CT. When George was ten his father died and at 14 years he was apprenticed to Jason Fairbanks of Watertown, tolearn saddlery and harness; he remained with Jason Fairbanks for three and a half years and then moved to Utica where he followed his trade for four years. After four months in Clinton, Oneida Co., NY he moved to Smithville, Jefferson Co., except for two years on the plains and in California. He served two years in Sackett's Harbor as deputy collector of customs and three years in Watertown as Sheriff. In 1863 he was in the mercantile business in Smithville which he continued for seven years and disposed of his business in 1869 when he moved to his farm. He also served in a variety of public offices. In the spring of 1854 he and his brother-in-law and Dr. Hiram Salisbury of Elmira NY went to Missouri and purchased a drove of sheep which they drove across the plains to California where they sold them at a fair profit. He returned to Smithville in the fall of 1855 and on 9 August 1845 he married Harriet Augusta McNeil, daughter of Elihu M. McNeil. She was born in Henderson on 14 July 1824. Her father was one of the early settlers of Henderson, having moved there with his father at age nine, coming from Hatfield, MA. Elihu McNeil, her father, was a member of the state legislature in 1842 and 1846. Herbert Demont Babbitt, the only son of George and Harriet A. Babbitt, was born at Smithvlle, Jefferson Co on 3 Nov 1847. He clerked for several years in his father's store and served in the Civil War. After the war, he returned to resume his clerkship with his father. In 1873 he was appointed deputy sheriff by his father. He married on 30 June 1874 to Isabella Merriam, daughter of Samuel G. Merriam of New Haven, Oswego Co. NY. She was born 23 May 1851.
Leonard A. Bacon was born in Antwerp, Jefferson Co NY on 13 April 1826, son of L. A. Bacon a native of Massachusetts, who was born April 1783. L. A. Bacon was a carpenter and joiner and assisted in building the first farm building ever built in Watertown NY. He married Lucy Morton about 1805; she was born in Massachusetts in 1787. As a young man, L. A. Bacon emigrated to Lowville in Lewis County NY. About 1821 he settled in Antwerp on a farm later owned by Smith Fuller. After moving to Antwerp, L. A. farmed and did not follow his carpenter trade. In 1827 he settled on the farm later owned by son, Leonard Bacon. L. A. Bacon died in 1859 and his wife, Lucy, in August 1860. Leonard at age 21 started his own business-that of making charcoal. His brother died and his parents wanted him to come home, which he did. When he started farming he had 25 acres and one cow; the farm grew to 600 acres and 66 milking cows. He owned two farm houses and six barns. He married Alvira Fuller of Antwerp on 28 Nov 1854. She was born 4 October 1830.
Gen. Abner Baker was born 17 Sept 1791 in Northampton MA, son of Abner and Lois Baker of Hebron CT. Abner Baker claimed lineal descent to Edward Baker of the Gov. Winthrop fleet, who settled at Saugus MA, on the south of a hill called Baker's Hill. Abner Baker Sr resided in Northampton and when son Abner Jr was about five years old, moved his family to Goshen in the same county, where they remained until March of 1804; they then moved to Deerfield, Oneida Co NY and in 1806 moved to Malta, in the new county of Jefferson NY. This was a farming family but Abner Jr at 17 decided to seek alternatives, so he moved to Watertown and hired out to Abraham Jewett to learn the brickmaker trade. He combined chopping wood for the brickyard and going to school. In 1811 there was a malignant type of typhoid fever and young Abner headed for Lorraine to get care from his mother and sisters. Although young Abner survived, two of his brothers and one sister died; she was Mrs. Oliver Taylor, age 30. Word was received that two of Abner Sr's brothers died in Northampton, MA. Lois Baker, Abner Jr's mother, died in April 1830 at 68 years. Abner Sr. died in Norwalk, Ohio at the home of son, Timothy Baker, on 15 Sept 1845. Abner Jr. married on 2 Jan 1817 to Eunice Hull, daughter of John Hull of Lorraine and they set up housekeeping in Watertown. Bricks from Jewett's brickyard were used in the walls of the house built in 1812 by Hart Massey. Gen. Baker served in the state militia and was commissioned adjutant of the 76th regiment of the New York State milita. He rose in the military ranks to become known as General. General Baker suffered a stroke and died on 25 July 1872. His wife survived him.
Rev. Gardner Baker was born in Minden, Montgomery Co NY on 11 Sept 1802, son of Thomas Baker and Mary Hall, natives of Rhode Island. In the spring of 1823 Rev. Baker entered Lowville Academy. He held the office of presiding elder for 31 years and spent five years in circuits, twelve years on stations and six years at "Pilgrim's home", a term he used to designate his home in Watertown, NY. Rev. Baker was affiliated with the Methodist Episcopal Church. In 1827 he married Esther Scott, daughter of Roca and Puella Scott of Perch River. Rev. Baker had a summer cottage at the Thousand Islands Park and while spending time there, died on 12 August 1877. His wife survived him.
Thomas Baker was born in Canaan, Litchfield Co CT on 8 Sept 1796, son of Erastus and Lois Baker, both natives of Windham Co CT. In 1802, Erastus Baker moved to Litchfield, Herkimer Co NY with his family and after a short time moved to Paris, Oneida Co, then to Utica NY and in 1807 to Watertown, Jefferson Co NY. In 1809 at 13 years, Thomas was apprenticed to William Smith, a merchant of Watertown. In 1822 he took charge of a store in Carthage for Vincent Le Ray de Chaumont, where he remained for 12 years and was office supervisor of the town of Wilna for two years. In company with Jason Fairbanks, Joseph Kimball, Isaac H. Bronson and John Sigourney, Thomas purchased the old cotton factory which continued for 12 years. He then purchased the Phoenix flouring mill which he ran for 7 years and then became employed in building the U & B railroad. Thomas married in 1819 to Laura Nash of Watertown and she died in May 1863. He married 2) Mrs. Hiram Davis of Oswego in 1864 and she died in 1874.
John B. Ball was born in Lowville, Lewis Co NY on 6 Sept 1811, son of Jonathan Ball of New England (New Hampshire) and grandson of Jonathan Ball, who was in the battle of Bunker Hill and served through the Revolutionary War. Jonathan Ball Jr. was a soldier in the War of 1812, moved to Lewis Co. while a young man, with his father during the early years of the 18th century and became a pioneer of that county. John B. Ball worked on the farm until his father's death in 1831 and for three years carried on the farm for his mother. At age 23 he married Melinda Bailey, who was born in Watertown, Jefferson Co, on 17 January 1813, daughter of Seth Bailey and Rebecca Loomis. The married occurred on 15 April 1835. In 1838, John B. Ball came to the town of Cape Vincent and settled as a farmer. After seven years he moved to Watertown and settled there. His first purchase was 150 acres and subsequent additions brought the total to 670 acres in Jefferson County, other counties in the state and other states.
James Ballard was born in the town of Brownville, Jefferson Co NY on 7 Aug. 1812, son of James Ballard of Lancaster, MA, whose ancestors were natives of Holland. James Ballard settled in Brownville during the early part of the 1800's and carried on the business of cabinet manufacturing in partnership with James McKenzie. James Ballard farmed, became a contractor and builder and moving west died in his 56th year in Maumee City, Ohio. Samuel Ballard, the oldest son, learned the cabinet business and stayed with his father until of age. At 22 he married Mary A. Warren, of Brownville; within five years they removed to Maumee City, Ohio. After three years, he returned to Brownville and in the year of the great fire in Watertown, moved to that village and became an undertaker.
Abel Bickford was born on 30 Sept 1811 at Lowville, Lewis Co NY, son of Levi and Esther Bickford. Levi Bickford was a native of New Hampshire and born in 1774; he emigrated to Lowville, Lewis Co in 1801. His mother, Esther, was a native of Rhode Island and an early pioneer of Lewis County. Levi and Esther were married about 1803. Levi Bickford was a farm by occupation and died on 1 Dec. 1830. Mrs. Esther Bickford lived to be 78. At the age of 16, Abel began working out by the month, which he did for ten years. He married Betsey Lewis of Harrisburg, Lewis Co., NY on 6 June 1838. She was born 26 March 1817. Abel began as a poor boy on a farm and became one of the substantial and wealthy men of Henderson, Jefferson Co. In May of 1871 he settled in Henderson. Betsey Bickford died on 10 Sept. 1875 and Abel survived her.
George Bunnel was born 10 May 1823 and was the son of Moses A. Bunnel and Lola Hitchcock. Moses was born in Wallingford CT on 18 Nov 1774 and died 14 Feb 1852. Lola was born in New Haven CT on 11 Feb. 1776 and died 12 Oct. 1867. Moses and Lola were married on 5 Feb 1804 and in about 1809 moved from Blanford, MA to the town of Russell in St. Lawrence Co NY, where they kept a hotel for some ten or eleven years. They moved to Canandaigua, Ontario Co NY where he began farming. After two years in Ontario Co., Moses moved to the town of Henderson, Jefferson Co. and took up a farm where the lived and died. Moses died at age 78 and Lola died at 92. George Bunnel married on 14 October 1857 to Lorentin Gilman who was born 12 Feb 1835.
S. Boon was born 27 July 1805 in the town of Manchester, Bennington Co., VT, son of Stephen and Sally Boon, natives of that place. In 1819 he came to Watertown with Elnathan Mattison and worked on Mattison's farm until he was 21. He attended school and in began teaching in 1825. When he was 20 he bought one acre of land in Watertown where he built a house and tannery and for the next 10 years carried on a large and profitable trade in Canada. He took boots, shoes and teas and sold them there, and due to the scarcity of money, took stock in payment which he brought to the US to sell. His wealth grew and in 1837 he built the City Hotel in Watertown. He served in various enterprises and is credited with building over 100 houses in Watertown. In 1832 he married Mary Ann Wilcox, daughter of Roswell and Innocence Wilcox of Malone, Franklin Co., NY She died in February of 1871.
Gilbert Bradford was born in the town of Otsego, Otsego Co NY on 8 Sept. 1814, son of Perez Bradford, a native of Providence RI, and a lineal descendant of Governor William Bradford, who emigrated from England on the 1620 Mayflower, settling in Rhode Island. Perez Bradford was a soldier in the Revolutionary War and by occupation a cardmaker and removed to Otsego Co NY where he carried on his business. However, during the War of 1812 the supply of wire was cut off by Great Britain, and none being manufactured, Perez built a wire factory on the outlet of Schuyler Lake, near Coopertstown and began making wire. Perez died at Cazenovia NY in 1848 at age 90. At the age of 18 Gilbert Bradford learned the blacksmith business and carried on that trade for four years; he then took charge of the cotton manufacturing at Butternuts NY and in 1837 he came to Clayton, Jefferson Co and in 1838 settled in Watertown. While working in Goulding's Machine Shops Gilbert constructed two portable steam engines, which were the first in the United States. He became a parter with Charles B. Hoard and they began making portable steam engines. Horace Greeley in an article in the New York Tribune of 13 July 1850 commented: "The best thing I saw in Watertown was the turnout of two thousand people on a stormy night to hear a dry temperance lecture. The next best thing was a new portable steam engine invented and manufactured by Hoard and Bradford..." In 1865, Bradford sold out his interest and the company was then run by the sole owner, Hoard. Bradford was twice married; 1) to Adeline Thornton in 1841 who died 14 March 1874 and 2) Mrs. Myra Adams, widow of the late Ely S. Adams.
James Brodie was born in Lochwinnoch, Renfrewshire, Scotland on 14 October 1798, son of Robert and Margaret Brodie. Robert Brodie died when James was nine and so James lived with his mother until he was 21. He then began farming on his own at Barr Hill, Ayrshire. He married on 25 Dec 1819 to Margaret Brodie, daughter of Hugh and Elizabeth Brodie. James emigrated to America in 1847 and settled on the farm at Ellisburg which consisted of 157 acres, bought of Samuel Hackley. His focus was on raising blooded livestock. He imported the first Ayrshire stock in Jefferson County. Several cross Atlantic trips were made by his sons to import the stock. He also raised Yorkshire pigs and Leicester sheep.
Aaron Brown died at Lorraine on 9 May 1870 at 86 years; he was born at Killingly CT in 1784 and was the son of Ebenezer Brown, who died in 1832 at Lorraine at age 82; Ebenezer Brown was a soldier In the Revolutionary War. The family moved from Killingly to Argyle NY and after a short time moved to a location on the south side of Sandy Creek, now in the village of Adams, west of the railroad , in 1801. Aaron came on foot with his axe on his shoulder but then after a year looked for a new location in the village of Lorraine. At that time barely half a dozen families lived in the region which was then within the boundaries of Mexico-it then became Malta and then Lorraine. He began to cut the forest, and converted the timber to ashes for sale in exchange for articles needed and by 1811 had paid for a considerable quantity of land; commenced in the mercantile business and kept a small inn. He and his brother, Joel, continued the inn as late as 1825. He was also the cause of the sawmill and gristmill needed for his work. There were also distilleries added to his holdings. On 1 Feb 1819 he married Betsy Burpee, daughter of Ebenezer Burpee of Jaffrey, NH, a soldier in the Revolutionary War who had removed to Lorraine and died there in 1832 at 72 years. After Aaron's death, Betsy moved to the old Burpee farm and was 86 years old on 18 Feb 1877.
Elam Brown was born in Bridgewater, Madison Co NY on 13 Dec 1802. He was the son of James and Anna (Waldo) Brown. James Brown was a native of Warren, Worcester Co MA, the ancestors from Ireland. Anna Brown was a native of Bennington VT, of French and English descent, Anna Waldo came to Madison Co when she was 18 years old in 1790 and was a pioneer of that county, being born in 1772. James Brown moved to Champion, Jefferson Co in 1803; he engaged in farming, opened a public house, built a grist mill and carried on a pottery business but also manufactured brick. James Brown died at 85 years; Anna died in 1859. Elam worked with his father both o nthe farm and in connection with his other business until he was 40. In 1843 he married Mary O. Waldo, daughter of Jonathan and Mary Waldo of Rutland. Mary died on 25 Jan 1859 and he married 2) Agnes E. Pease of Rome, Oneida Co. NY. She died 18 May 1868.
Levi H. Brown was born in Lorraine, Jefferson Co. He worked on a farm until age 19 and then started out to get an education. He read law, and was admitted to practice in the Supreme Court in July 1846. He read and practiced law at Adams NY from 1843 to 1852 when he moved to Watertown.
Lysander H. Brown was born 20 Dec 1808 at Brownville, Jefferson Co, NY , son of Henry Brown. Henry Brown came to the Black River wilderness in May 1799 at the age of 14. His family and that of the late Major General Jacob Brown, emigrated together from near the city of Philadelphia, Bucks Co., PA. They journeyed principally by water, and landed on the banks of the Black River at the locality of th present village of Brownville. Both families traced their origins to the same English ancestry and were Quakers. After graduating from Union Academy in 1834, Lysander took charge of a high school in Champion. In 1838 he gave up his school and took up residence in Watertown, where he began the study of law. In Nov. 1842 he married Mary Ann Symonds, daughter of Israel Symonds, of Watertown; she died 5 December 1875. In Nov. 1844 he was elected a representative of the county in the State Assembly.
Alvah Bull was born in Huntington, Chittenden Co VT on 5 Feb 1803, son of Elijah Bull and Eunice. Alvah's grandfather was Chrispin Bull and was the third settler in the town of Danby VT. Alvah's father, Elijah died in Danby in 1848 and Eunice died there in 1868. Annie Bull, sister of Alvah, was the widow of Greene Packer and lived in Adams, Jefferson Co NY. Chrispin Bull, farmer of Ellisburg and Clark Bull of Wallingford, Rutland Co VT were brothers. When Alvah was two his parents moved to Danby VT. He stayed with them until he was 29. In the fall of 1831 he came to Ellisburg and bought 147 acres of land. He then returned to Vermont where he married on 11 Feb. 1832 to Louisa Packer, daughter of James and Mary Packer of Guilford, Windham Co VT and on 1 March of 1833 they moved to his farm in Jefferson County. Between 1827 and 1832 when in Vermont, Alvah worked as a blacksmith but turned to farming. Alvah had a Quaker upbringing.
E. A. Carpenter was born in Antwerp, Jefferson Co on 25 June 1828, son of Thomas and Ann C. Carpenter. His father was a native of Florida, Montgomery Co NY and was born 30 Sept 1796 and was a farmer by occupation. Thomas Carpenter married Ann Wright of DeWainesburg, [Duanesberg] Montgomery Co NY on 13 Nov 1819. In March 1820 Thomas emigrated to Antwerp and settled on a farm that passed to his son, E. A. Thomas died on 31 October 1873; his widow survived him and lived on the old farm with E. A. E. A. remained at home until he was 28 and then purchased the farm later owned by Charles Render, and built all of the buildings on that farm. He remained there for 14 years then sold out and bought the old home on which he built some fine buildings. He married Polly Ingalls of LeRay on 9 March 1852. She was born 13 Sept 1830.
Milton Carpenter was born in Huntington, Fairfield Co, CT on 17 Feb 1801, son of William Carpenter and Charity Hawley. William Carpenter was a native of Rhode Island, and the grandfather, Calvin Carpenter, was descended from three brothers who came to America in the 1600's. Milton lived with his father until he was 15 and then served a six year apprenticeship, learning the tanner and currier trade. Son after the close of his apprenticeship he came to Watertown but could get no work so he went to Kingston CA and remained three years working his trade. He returned to Watertown in 1826, and after two years entered into partnership with Mr. Kitts in the manufacture of morrocco and continued until 1834. They dealt mostly in wool, making their principal sales in Albany and Providence. After the business was burned in 1833, Milton left in 1856 for Warsaw, WI and after four years returned to Watertown. Milton married at age 28 in 1829 to Rachel Nash of Albany NY. Rachel died in 1874 at age 65. Milton survived her. Their son, John M. Carpenter was married on 17 January 1856 to Amanda Jane Graves, daughter of Samuel Graves of Watertown, NY.
Evelyn F. Carter was born in the town of Clinton, CT on 14 March 1811, son of Hubbel Carter and Eunice Pamalee of Ct. Evelyn's father died when he was ten years old and his mother died when he was two. Evelyn was adopted by Peter Farnham, a sea captain after the death of his mother. The captain was unfortunate in business and Evelyn was left without a guardian. He struggled with poverty, working in factories and shops until he was 28 and in 1838 moved and settled at Evans Mills in the town of LeRay. In 1836 he married Emogene Praff of Durham, Green Co., NY, daughter of Abijah Pratt and Polly Post, of CT. Upon coming to Jefferson Co., Evelyn settled a s a farmer on 167 acres in the town of LeRay, carried on dairying and raising grain. In 1875 Evelyn gave up his farming interests to his son, Revilo Carter, and moved to Watertown. Revilo Carter Married Martha Avery of Chelsea MA in 1875.
Hon. Merrill Coburn was born in New Hampshire in 1792; he came to Jefferson Co in 1816 and the following year married. In 1825 he was elected justice of the peace and became known as Squire Coburn. In 1825 he was in the wool carding and cloth making business at Felt's Mills. In 1840 he went to Chicago, where a family member was living. He took a large contract from the State of Illinois to build a canal section. After the canal job was completed he returned to Felt's Mills and became involved in the lumber business He was involved in the Union Bank and in 1851 was elected to the assembly. He died in August 1871.
William M. Coburn, son of Merrill Coburn, was born at Felt's Mills on 26
Jan 1825. At the conclusion of his schooling he was admitted as a
partner with his father in the lumber busines-two mills, one at Felt's
Mills and another, the Huntington Mill, which had a farm attached, and
which he operated for seven years. In 1860 he moved to Carthage where he
pursued the lumber manufacture.
He helped to bring the Carthage and Watertown Railroad to completion and was one of the founders of the Empire State Life Ins. Co; he also served on the board of the Black River Fire Ins. Co. He became a director of the Jefferson Co National Bank and the National Union Bank.
George W. Collins was born 11 July 1822, the son of John Collins, one of the earliest pioneers of Watertown. George at 21 went out on his own having previously lived with and assisted his father on the homestead farm. George married on 15 January 1843 to Fanny Stewart, daughter of William Stewart, of Fulton Co., NY. In 1865, George moved to Henderson and rented the A. C. Clark place, which he subsequently purchased, a farm of 240 acres. Fanny Collins died on 22 May 1877.
James F. Converse was born on 2 October 1825 in Bridgewater, Oneida Co NY, son of Thomas and Lydia Converse. James' grandfather's name was David and both father and grandfather were natives of Belchertown, MA. David Converse moved to Bridgewater Oneida Co NY and he and his wife died there. Thomas married in Bridgewater to Lydia Stratton and moved to Ellisburg, Jefferson Co in March 1835, having purchased the Azariah Doane farm of 235 acres, near Woodville, north of the north fork of Sandy Creek. Thomas Converse died on the farm 24 Sept 1858 and Lydia Converse 18 June 1857. James graduated from Hamilton College at 23; in 1848 he bought the homestead farm and worked it thereafter. His interest was in Ayrshire cattle which numbered 100 head. James married on 12 Nov. 1857 to Marietta Bull who was the daughter of Alvah and Louisa Bull. Mariettta died on 18 Nov. 1865 and James married 2) on 11 Dec 1866 to Adelia C. Hopper, daughter of Samuel and Betsey Hopper.
Abraham Cooper was the son of John Cooper, and was born at Southampton, Long Island on 18 June 1781. In about 1795, Abraham accompanied his father's family to Utica NY. Hiram assisted his father in hauling goods from boats to stores. Hiram took his team on a trip to Genesse County as it was called in 1796; only one log house was there in the (now) city of Auburn. On his return he stopped at Salina for a load of salt. There was an old man with three kettles boiling salt, which comprised the nucleus of the celebrated Salt Point saltworks. In 1818 he moved to the present site of Ox Bow in the town of Antwerp where he opened a store and land office, having previously purchased a large tract of land in that area. Abraham Cooper died on 7 Feb 1861. Wife: Harriet Cooper.
John Cowles Cooper died in 1877 at age 76 years. He was the son of Miles Cooper and came to Adams at an early date in 1803 from Durham, CT, where he was born and where his ancestors had lived before him. Miles Coper built a log house on what is now Church St. directly opposite John C. Cooper's late residence and afterwards on the same ground erected the first frame building in Adams. John's mother's name was Aseneth Cowles and she was from Durham, where she married Miles Cooper. John's uncle Abner Cooper, brother to his father, was a sea captain and was taken prisoner by the British in the Rev. War. John was about 14 at the time of the battle of Sandy Creek when he heard the heavy cannonade and ran without stopping to the scene of the conflict. In 1823 he purchased a farm in Sandy Creek about a mile and a half from the village of Adams; the farm adjoined that of his father. On 15 Sept 1824 he married Elvira Fox, daughter of the late Daniel Fox, centenarian of the town. His farm was between that of his father and that of his father-in-law. John's wife survived him. He favored heartily the organization of the Thousand Island Park Association and left a substantial monument in the beautiful iron cottage known as The Cooper Cottage, which he erected on his lot for the use of his family.
Ithamar B. Crawe was born in Enfield, CT on 11 June 1792. His father, David Crawe, was a direct descendant of the Plymouth Rock Pilgrims and a captain in the War of the Revolution. His mother was Sally Bingham. In 1802 the family moved to Madison Co, NY . Due to his poor health, Ithamar in 1817 made two successive fishing voyages to Newfoundland which restored his health. After pursuing the study of medicine at New York University, in 1822 he was licensed to practice medicine. He began his practice that same year in Watertown NY. In 1836 he was employed as superintendent of certain mining operations in Lubec, Nova Scotia. He then moved to Pontiac MI and returned to Watertown, again practicing medicine, and continued his research in botany and mineralogy. In 1847 at the request of a friend, a Cambridge professor, Ithamar went to Perch Lake to acquire some plant specimens in the company of two friends when at about 6 o'clock their boat capsized and all three were submerged. His two friends survived but Ithamar could not hold on to the boat and drowned. Ithamar married Charlotte Frances, daughter of John and Sarah Mortimer on 15 April 1830.
Roswell Davis was an early permanent settler, having moved to the Henderson area about 1811 from Lunenburg VT, with his wife and two children. He purchased a farm in Bishop St. in that town, later owned by his youngest son, W. P. Davis. In about 1840, he became the owner of the Putnam farm where the first town meetings were held. He served in the War of 1812 and was at the Battle of Sackett's Harbor and Sandy Creek.
Elisha P. Dodge was born on Block Island, state of Rhode Island on 10 May 1800. At age three his father moved the family and settled in Exeter until 1817 when they removed to Jefferson County and settled on Carlton Island. At that time Elisha and his brother were in the lumber trade, which they continued for four years. Elisha then took a job for A. Lewis, an extensive lumberman. In 1832 he turned his attention to farming. On 17 Sept. 1833 he married Olive Twincliff and settled on the farm later owned by Gilbert Robbins. The family farm was where Elisha lived until his death which occurred on 14 Feb 1864. His widow survived him.
Joel Dodge was born in Herkimer Co. NY on 12 Feb 1817, his father a native of New York and his mother of Connecticut, both early pioneers of Herkimer co. Joel was reared on a farm and followed it ever after. He worked by the month for some time after coming of age. On 3 March 1842 he married Sarah Adams of Otsego Co NY, who was born 8 Sept 1822. Joel came to Henderson on 1 May 1843 and settled on the farm later owned by James Dodge. In the spring of 1870 he settled on his 120 acre farm. Sarah Dodge was taken sick in the spring of 1875 and suffered for two years; she died on 25 Feb 1877.
James Douglas was born at Palatine NY on 13 Dec 1791, son of John Douglas. John's father was Alexander Douglas, a Scotchman and descendant of the Douglas family. Alexander landed in America during the Revolution on the day when tea was overboarded into Boston Harbor. Alexander died in Albany NY. John Douglas had just reached his majority when he arrived in America and served through the Revolutionary War; he settled in Palatine, Montgomery Co NY where he married Martha Taylor. John Douglas died in Canada. James Douglas married Hannah Edwards of Montgomery Co in July 1815. Hannah had seven brothers in the War of 1812 all at once. Hannah died on 3 May 1817. After her death, James married 2) Susanna Pettit, daughter of Hermon and Martha Pettit, who settled in Watertown NY in 1801. Susanna was born in 1801, being the first born in Watertown. Shortly after the battle of Sackett's Harbor, James came to Jefferson Co looking for a farm; he worked a short time and then returned to Montgomery Co. In 1819 he came to Brownville with his family. Within a short he purchased a farm where he remained the rest of his life. James died 10 May 1876 at 84.
Austin Everett was born in Sharon CT on 11 Dec 1797, son of Eliphalet and Rhoda Everett, who came to Jefferson County and settled in Watertown on the farm adjoining Francis Smiley. Eliphalet died on 27 March 1815. Rhoda was a descendant of Deacon William Peck of New Haven CT; she died 2 June 1851. Austin remained on the farm until he was of age, receiving a limited education. At 21 Austin married Hannah Moss of Dorset Vermont in December 1819. Hannah died and Austin married 2) Minerva Crandall, daughter of Ezeriah and Martha Crandall of Johnstown NY. She was born 16 August 1809. Of the children of Austin Everett, Harriet M. married Velora W. Smiley, son of Francis Smiley of Watertown on 17 Jan 1849. The second Mrs. Everett survived her husband.
Jason Fairbanks was a son of Capt. Samuel Fairbanks of Mendon, MA and was born on 8 Sept. 1785. At age 13, he went to Boston and hired himself to the proprietors of a public house known as Forbes & King. At the end of the year, his father had removed with the family to Thompson, CT, so Jason apprenticed himself to James Bragg, a saddler and harness maker of that town. In 1802 he moved with Mr. Bragg to Newport in Herkimer Co NY where he remained until 1807. His apprenticeship was over in the fall and Mr. Bragg sent him to the western portion of the State know as Genesee Country, to make some collections for him. There was a great deal of fever and ague sickness in many portions of the then west and he decided not to stick his stake until he had visited Ogdensburgh and Watertown. He went to Sacket's Harbor, visiting Brownville on his way back and decided Watertown suited him. In 1811 he bought a building in Watertown and added shoemaking to his other leather business, which he continued for 42 years. During the War of 1812 he was buying and selling commodities and also served in a cavalry company commanded by Calvin McKnight. Jason served in various public offices after the war in addition to running his very successful enterprises. Jason Fairbanks died on 10 Jan. 1875 at almost 90 years. His wife, Mary Massey, was the daughter of Hart Massey, a prominent citizen of Jefferson Co. She spent her final days living on Arsenal Street in Watertown at least to her 82nd year. It is said that this family was connected with the Fairbanks family of St. Johnsbury, VT, who manufactured scales, and one of whom was governor of the State of Vermont.
Lavias Fillmore was born in Middletown VT on 1 August 1811, son of Ethni Fillmore. In October of 1816, his parents moved to Ellisburg and situated on a farm. Ethni Fillmore died in Boylston, Oswego Co on 25 March 1844. After Ethni's death, Lavias' mother came to live with him and died on 7 April 1872 at the age of 94 years. In March of 1816, Ethni Fillmore came to Ellisburg, having purchased 25 acres of Pierrepont, which was all woods; it was there that he built a log cabin. Father and son cleared and worked the farm up to 1841 when the father sold the farm to his son, having purchased 500 acres in Boylston. Lavias married on 1 Sept 1836 to Marietta Thayer, daughter of James and Fanny Thayer. After Ethni Fillmore died, Lavias paid up a large balance due on the Boylston land, which had been left in legacy to his sisters.
E. B. Fowler was born in Steuben, Oneida Co NY on 19 July 1800, son of Silas and Betsey Fowler. His father was of Massachusetts. His mother, Betsey Hough, was also of Massachusetts. His father was a farmer by occupation but with interests in the town and county, was known as Squire Fowler. At age 27, E. B. Fowler went to Turin, Lewis Co. and with his brother, George J. Fowler, started a mercantile business. On 13 February 1831 he married Jane Bush, daughter of Major Oliver Bush of Turin, Lewis Co, formerly of Westfield MA. In 1833 E. B. moved to Antwerp and again was in the mercantile business and purchase of produce, doing a large butter and cheese business. He followed this pursuit for 20 years and finally started the Agricultural Mutual Insurance Company and moved to the city of Watertown in 1853. When he left the mercantile business he pursued his major goal, that of developing farm insurance which he lived to see become a success. E. B. Fowler died on 12 July 1877 in his 77th year; his widow, Jane, survived him.
Daniel Fox the 2nd was born in the town of Adams on 16 May 1808, son of Samuel Fox and Lucy Williams. He spent his boyhood on his father's farm until age 16 when he was apprenticed to a carpenter. Having mastered the skill he became an active workman and scores of buildings in Adams Centre are the result of his handiwork. When the Rome, Watertown and Ogdensburgh RR was built through Adams Centre, he received the appointment as station agent. In 1832 he married Betsey Harrington of Rodman, who died in 1850. He married 2) Miss N. C. Clark.
Samuel Fox was a brother of Daniel Fox, the celebrated centenarian farmer. Samuel was born at Groton CT on 15 Aug 1781 and spent his early years in that place. Upon attaining manhood he removed to Oneida Co NY where he was noted for his skill as a woodman and great power of endurance. In 1800 he joined a party of immigrants headed for Jefferson County and located that year in the town of Adams. Near the spot which became his future home, he cleared the first acre of land in the summer of 1800. In 1802 he married Lucy Williams of Rome. Samuel Fox was in the battle of Sackett's Harbor and other War of 1812 engagements. He died at Adams Centre in March 1865.
Norman J. Fuller was born in Rutland Jefferson Co on 26 July 1830, son of Jacob Fuller. Jacob Fuller settled in Rutland in 1804 and remained there until his death in August 1859. In the spring following Jacob's death, Norman moved to Champion and settled on the farm where he resided. In the winter of 1867 he married Mrs. Jerusha Ann King. She died on 18 Feb 1872, Norman had a farm of 300 acres and also carried on dairying extensively
Solomon O. Gale was born in the Town of Champion, Jefferson Co on 25 Oct. 1812, son of Nehemiah Gale and Lucy Parker. His father was a lineal descendant from Richard Gale who emigrated from England in 1640 and settled in Watertown MA. Solomon's father was born in Vermont and his grandfather, Deacon Solomon Gale was born in MA and removed to Vermont early in his life and owned the farm upon which the Battle of Bennington was fought. In 1810, his father came to Jefferson County from his native state and settled in Champion as a farmer. Nehemiah had opened an extensive ore bed for his father before leaving Vermont, and explored Jefferson and adjoining counties in search of ore, and was successful in some places, as the Wicks bed in Antwerp. Nehemiah Gale was born 24 August 1788 and was 24 when the War of 1812 began; he was engaged in the service and was on board the "Julia" when the attack was made on Prescott. At the close of the War he settled in Hounsfield. Solomon Gale married 22 Dec. 1842 to Jane Griffin, daughter of John Griffin, native of Dutchess Co NY. He then purchased the old homestead in LeRay of his father's heirs and remained on the farm until he moved to Watertown in 1862. Nehemiah Gale was killed by the effects of a kick from a horse in 1844 and his mother, Lucy, died in 1859. Solomon Gale had two adopted sisters-Lucy Guernsey and Sarah Mott.
Alvin A. Gibbs was born 16 Sept 1822 at Hammond, St. Lawrence Co. NY, son of Alvin Gibbs of Greenedge, Hampshire Co MA. Alvin Sr. emigrated to New York and settled in Otsego Co and from there to the town of Hammond. In a short time, Alvin Sr. moved to Watertown where he bought a farm. Alvin Jr. attended Jefferson County Institute. At 14 he learned the trade of cloth dresser and at 20 he left his father's home and moved to Brownville where he followed his trade until he was 24. He engaged himself as a clerk to a dry goods merchant in Brownville, and Oliver Stevens. From there he went to Janesville WI where he engaged in the clothing trade. In 1858 he returned to Brownville and with A. S. Lord carried on a general trade.
Charles Goodenough was born at Brattleborough VT on 11 October 1807, son of Daniel and Nancy (Miller) Goodenough. Daniel's father was born in Brattleborough on 6 July 1786. Nancy Goodenough was born on 9 March 1788. In March 1817, the family moved to Ellisburg, Jefferson Co. and settled in the southwestern portion. Daniel died on 12 August 1855 and Nancy died on 29 July 1857. Nancy F. Goodenough, sister to Charles, was born on 3 Feb 1809 in VT and married William S. Lindsey on 26 Jan 1831. Charles lived with his father until he was 21 and then went to live with his sister, Nancy Lindsey, who kept house for him after her husband's death. Charles had acquired about 20 acres of land and ran the Goodenough sawmill, near his house, on Lindsey Creek. Profits from the mill were used to acquire more land and by the time of his death his estate covered six hundred acres. He died of a tumor on 9 March 1870 and never married. His estate was left to his sister, Nancy Lindsey; she willed 161 acres and the sawmill to her son, Charles Lindsey.
Jenery T. Gotham was born in Watertown, Jefferson Co., on 10 March 1813, son of Colonel John Gotham and Nancy Penniman. Jenery's father, John, was a native of New Hampshire. John Gotham came to Jefferson Co. and settled in Watertown when he was about 21 in 1804. At age 23 in 1805 he married Nancy Penniman of New Hampshire who was born 1781. In 1812 John Gotham enlisted as corporal under Captain Lampson to defend the state at Sackett's Harbor. At the close of the war he engaged in the State Militia Rifle Company, and with regular promotions became Colonel. John Gotham drowned in Lake Ontario on 15 Nov 1840 at age 57. Jenery Gotham lived at home until at 26 he married Caroline Hutchinson, daughter of Daniel and Elizabeth Hutchinson of Saratoga Co. In 1843 Jeremy moved to Lewis County and settled on a farm but after three years returned to Watertown.
A. S. Greene - Chief Engineer of US Navy was born in Adams on 3 August 1838. He attended Adams Seminary until 1855 and in Nov. 1855 entered the Rensselaer Polytechnic College of Troy NY. He graduated with the degree of Civil Engineer in June 1859. In December 1859 he received permission to be examined for admission into the engineer corps of the US Navy; passed the exam and was admitted. His first cruise was made in the US steamer "Susquehanna" in 1860-61; in the latter part of 1861 he was detached from the steamer and ordered to duty in the US Navy Department in Washington where he remained until the early part of 1868. He was then ordered on a cruise in the USS "Nyack" to the South Pacific, which he continued until 1871. He served on board the iron clad Mahopac, and others. After several other services on various ships and served on a board to examine officers for promotion.
Thomas R. Greene was born at Berlin, Rensselaer Co NY on 12 Jan 1801. At the age of 12 he was left an orphan and had to make his own way. He was by occupation a farmer. In 1822 he married Polly Whitford, whom he survived by many years. He married 2) on 27 Dec 1858 to Mrs. Delia O. Wright, who survived him. Thomas died 6 May 1873; he was elected to office in Rodman, where he removed in 1835, and in Adams where he made his home in 1865. He was a brother of Joseph L. Green of Adams Village.
Caleb G. Hall was born at Exeter, Rhode Island on 10 September 1813, son of Havens and Amy Hall. In 1820 with his parents, they moved to Antwerp, Jefferson Co NY. He remained with his parents until he was 25. On 29 Nov 1838 he married Catherine Jane Lewis of Antwerp. She was born 11 Feb 1819 at Petersburg, Rensselaer Co NY and became a resident of Antwerp when she was nine months old, when her parents moved to Antwerp. Caleb and Catherine Hall moved to Newlet, on a farm later owned by George Hicks, where they lived for 26 years and in 1865 settled on the present farm, known as the Lewis Farm.
John G. Harbottle was born in Trenton, Oneida Co NY on 4 June 1819, son of John Harbottle and Sophia Vassar. John Sr. was born in the County of Northumberland, England on 9 March 1779 and at age 22 in 1801, emigrated from England and settled at Poughkeepsie, Dutchess Co. NY. Sophia Vassar was a sister of Matthew Vassar, the founder of Vassar College in NY State and daughter of James and Annie Vassar of English birth. Sophia Vassar was born in the County of Norfolk, England on 11 Dec 1784 and emigrated to America with her family when she was age 12, in 1796. The Vassar family is of French descent and this line of the family left France during the early part of the eighteenth century and settled in England. John Sr. and Sophia were married 10 May 1806 at Poughkeepsie, NY. He engaged in manufacturing cloth and was said to be the first man in the state who carded wool by machine. John Sr. settled in Watertown in 1833 and died in 1843; Sophia died in 1861. John Jr. learned the tinsmith trade and established his own business in Watertown in 1852. At the age of 22, John Jr. married Mrs. Victorine R. Huntington, daughter of Lathrop Huntington of Watertown. She died in 1843 and John Jr. married 2) Marcia Ann Crydenwise, daughter of John Crydenwise of Otsego Co NY, of German descent, on 28 May 1848.
D. M. Hall was born in Hounsfield, Jefferson Co, on 11 July 1824, son of Daniel and Anna Hall. His parents were from New England. On 10 October 1851 he married E. J. Robbins, daughter of Austin and Eunice Robbins, natives of Massachusetts. E. J. Hall was born in Adams, Jefferson Co. on 1 June 1825. D. M. Hall commenced farming for himself in Hounsfield and after two years moved to the town of Adams, where he lived for 15 years, and then settled on the farm where he raised his family. D. M. Hall died on 25 September 1872.
Erastus B. Haven was born 11 May 1823 to Luther Haven and Phebe Tracy. . Luther came with his father to New York State in 1794 and settled in Frankfort, Herkimer Co in 1807. He married Phebe Tracy on 6 July 1814. He then came to Ellisburg and bought by piece meal the homestead farm in the southeastern part of the town. Phebe died on 7 June 1847. Erastus, who was born in Ellisburg, married on 23 Sept 1857 to Mary Freeman, daughter of Elder Joshua Freeman.
Lorenzo Dow Hill was born in Richfield, Oneida Co NY on 31 July 1808, son of Asa Hill, a native of Holleston, MA, and Catharine Hill of Connecticut. Asa Hill moved to Oneida Co in 1800 and in 1810 moved with his family to the town of Rodman, Jefferson Co. Asa Hill died in 1856 at age 86 years and Catharine Hill died in 1859 at 78 years. Lorenzo, at age 24, married Amanda R. Adams, daughter of Septimus G. and Dorothy Adams of Watertown, NY. After several years on their farm, they sold their holdings to Lorenzo's brother, Calvin P. Hill. Lorenzo and Amanda then moved to Burr;s Mills in Watertown, where they purchased the Deacon Caleb Burnam farm. Catharine Hill died 4 August 1850 at age 42. Lorenzo married 2) Elizabeth Welch, daughter of Hosea and Chloe Brown, of Ohio who survived him. Lorenzo D. Hill died in Watertown on 14 August 1877.
William G. Hitchcock was born in Westfield, Orleans Co VT on 16 March 1828, son of Joseph Hitchcock and Betsey Prentiss who were natives of Westminster, Windham Co. VT. William G. moved with his parents to the town of Worth, Jefferson Co., then known as Lorraine 2d, in 1845. At the age of 20 he bought a 100 acre farm to which he added an additional 80 acres. He married on 4 March 1852 to Orcelia E. Clark, daughter of Deacon Sylvester and Electa Clark, natives of Pittsfield, MA. Her mother died on 29 Dec 1871. Her father came to live with Electa and William. William's parents lived to be over 90 in Jefferson County.
Edwin A. Holbrook was born in Madrid, St. Lawrence Co., NY in 1817. He studied medicine but gave it up due to an impaired constitution. He became a resident of Watertown in 1852 where he practiced dentistry and literary pursuits, as well as public speaking. In 1875 he published a volume of 500 pages entitled "Life Thoughts", which contained 438 pages of poems.
Henry Hopkins was born in Stratford, CT on 10 Feb 1804. He was the son of Joseph Hopkins of Waterbury, CT and grandson of Joseph Hopkins, a lineal Mayflower descendant. His father and uncles were soldiers in the Revolutionary War. Joseph Hopkins, a silversmith by trade, also engaged in shipping and milling, but having lost his ship in 1805, moved to Bridgeport, CT and in the year of the great eclipse (1808) moved to Rutland, Jefferson Co., NY with his wife and eleven children and settled there. Henry, who was the youngest of the children , was 26 years old when his father died. In the previous year he had purchased his father's farm of 225 acres. Joseph Hopkins died in 1830 and in that year, Henry married Celestia Tyler, daughter of David and Chloe Tyler of Rutland. Engaged as a dealer in produce and stock, shipping to Boston and New York, and farming, until 1871, he removed to Watertown NY he built several residences, one of them where he resided. In 1863 Celestia Hopkins died while visiting friends in Middlebury CT, taken ill with typhoid fever. Henry married 2) Mrs. Chloe E. Burnham, widow of the late Dexter M. Burnham, and daughter of Otis Andrus of Rutland, who was a native of New Hampshire.
Elijah Houghton was born in Harvard, Wooster Co. MA on 12 June 1800; he was in company with his parents who emigrated to the town of LeRay in 1810. His father died two years later and Elijah went to live with one of the older members of the family where he remained for two years and then he served as an apprentice in the tanner and currier trade until he was of age. In 1823 he purchased his first piece of land in Antwerp but did not settle permanently until 1826. On 26 October 1826 he married Harriet Dopking of Oneida Co NY. She was born 16 April 1805. Elijah had a farm of 200 acres which he cleared himself. In 1830 he lost his house and all of the contents by fire, but with help from neighbors he had another home.
Nahum C. Houghton was born on 8 Jan 1825 in Belleville, Jefferson Co NY, son of Nahum Houghton SR, who was born in Marlborough VT on 6 Feb 1790. Nahum Sr. married Mary M. Brown on 3 Nov 1816. Nahum Sr. was among the earliest settlers of Ellisburg, Jefferson Co., and was called out at the time of the battle of Big Sandy Creek but arrived too late to take part. Nahum Sr. died 17 Dec. 1845. Nahum Jr. received his education in local schools and remained on the farm until he was 21. For six or seven years he devoted himself to teaching vocal music. For the next four years he was a clerk in Alexander Dickinson's dry goods store; he then entered into the business on his own and continued doing so for the next 17 years. He served in various public offices and on 27 October 1858 married Marietta Warrener, daughter of Walter and Eliza Warrener.
William Howard was born in Springfield MA on 16 October 1825, son of William Howard and Susannah Williams. William Howard Sr was a native of South Carolina and his father, Henry Howard with brother, emigrated from England to Boston about the time of the onset of the Revolutionary War. Both men enlisted on the side of the colonists and never saw each other again. Henry Howard settled in South Carolina after the war and married in that state but removed to Hampden Co. MA with his family in 1800 and again moved with his family to Jefferson Co. and settled at Wilna, near Carthage about 1828 where he died. William Howard Sr. married before coming to his country and came to Jefferson County with his father. They were farmers by occupation When William the younger was 10 to 18 years old he worked in the Massachusetts cotton mills but learned the tinsmith trade. In 1843 he married Laurinda Pelton of Springfield MA who died in 1859. He married 2) Mrs. Helen M. Fanning, daughter of Peter M. Myers of Orleans Jefferson Co. She was born on 1 Jan 1836. Her father was a native of Little Falls, Herkimer co and her great grandfather, Henry, was of German birth but her great grandmother was of English birth. His father subsequent to settlement in Watertown, moved to Hounsfield where his wife died in 1854; he returned to S. Hadley MA where he died in 1872.
Hiram Hubbard was the oldest child of Noadiah Hubbard and was born in Steuben, Oneida Co NY on 30 October 1794. He was one of the three sons brought by the parents on horseback to Champion in November 1799. In 1812 typhoid fever was epidemic in Champion and fatal, many family heads were swept away, among them his uncle, Stephen Hubbard. Upon Stephen's death, Noadiah called his son, Hiram, from school to conduct the family store. The combined business also ran a large distillery and potashery in connection with the dry goods store, which was then customary. Hiram married on 13 Feb 1823 to Charille Matilda Sherwood, eldest daughter of Dr. Jonathan Sherwood, who was then of Champion. In 1836 Hiram retired and lived in the stone mansion where he brought his bride. They celebrated at least 54 years of married life.
Noadiah Hubbard was a pioneer settler of Jefferson Co NY, and was born
in Middletown CT b 11 October 1763. He was the son of Noadiah Hubbard
and Phebe Fairchild. Noadiah Hubbard Jr. was a sea faring man and made
several voyages to the West Indies, a direction he gave up in compliance
with his mother's wishes. She had lost her first husband and eldest son
on a voyage and feared for young Noadiah. Noadiah spent several winters
in Guilford CT; he learned the trade of cloth dressing and also attended
an evening school. In May 1791 he left home to seek his fortune in the
west. He located first at Whitestown NY where he burned the first brick
kiln and also made the first lime ever burned there. In the autumn of
that year he bought 50 acres of land near the Leavenworth farm; he sold
his improvements to Benjamin Johnson. He located in the town of Steuben,
a neighbor of Baron Steuben. This was about 1794. Noadiah paid a visit
to his native place in the winter and on 30 Jan 1794 married Eunice
Ward, his early love, whom he transported to his forest home. In 1793 he
was offered a contract for the construction of canal locks at Little
Falls, which he accepted and hired men from Middletown CT to do the job.
He received a dollar a day for his services and 13 dollars a month for
each man; having to board them out of that money. He paid each man nine
dollars a month.
In the autumn of 1797, Lemuel Storrs, a large landed proprietor, induced him to accompany him to what became known as Champion NY. Subsequent to the visit, Storrs offered Noadiah 2,000 acres of land in any part of the township where he chose to locate, for the sum of 12 shillings an acre and the agency of all the lands. The common market price at the time was three dollars an acre, the price settlers paid for acreage. Noadiah accepted the offer and paid five hundred dollars down and selected his 2,000 acres in the center of the township; he reserved enough for himself and sold the remainder to various individuals. Mr. Storrs had failed and the failure led to a compromise by which Noadiah relinquished all the land contracts he had sold and what remained unsold, receiving a deed for one hundred acres only for the five hundred dollars he had paid. The township was valuable and Henry Champion, brother-in-law of Mr. Storrs, stepped in to his relief and became a partner in the land speculation. Hubbard continued to act as an agent of various other land holders for most of his life, being an early settled in the county. His was thoroughly involved in county projects and was an officer in the War of 1812. He held a variety of public offices.
Ward Hubbard was born in Steuben, Oneida Co NY on 26 Sept 1797, son of Noadiah Hubbard of CT; he was a lineal descendant from George Hubbard, born 1616, emigrated from England 1630 and settled in New England. George Hubbard married Elizabeth Watts, daughter of Richard Watts of CT and died in 1684. Noadiah Hubbard was a farmer but earlier was also a merchant in partnership with his brother, Stephen. He married Eunice Ward of CT. Noadiah in 1793 moved from CT and setlted in Oneida Co but remained a short time and in advance of his family in 1797 he and David Starr and others came and took up timber land in the town of Champion, Jefferson Co. It is said that he was the first man who chopped a tree in Jefferson Co for the purpose of settlement and consequently was the first settler. Noadiah Hubbard brought his family to Champion and died in June 1859; Eunice Hubbard died in November 1849. Ward Hubbard in 1830 married Clarissa S. Fish, daughter of Calvin B. Fish, of CT but who was living at Rutland, Jefferson Co. at the time of the marriage. In 1862 at the age of 65, Ward sold his farm and moved to the city of Watertown. His wife, Clarissa, was born in Lyme, CT on 21 Jan 1808 and was in her 70th year.
Hon. Orville Hungerford was born in Farmington on 29 October 1790. He moved with his father's family to Oneida Co and in the spring of 1804 to Watertown. He commenced a clerkship in Judge Foster's store at Burrville and in 1807 moved with him to Watertown where he afterward became a partner under the firm of Foster & Hungerford. The firm was engaged in supplying by contract provisions to the US Army at Sacket's Harbor during the war of 1812. In 1815 he began a mercantile business for himself and continued that trade until 1842. In that year he was elected to Cngress. He was an early stockholder in the Jefferson Co. Bank and served as cashier and president. He died on 6 April 1851 after a short but severe illness of 12 days.
Gen. Solon Dexter Hungerford of the town of Adams, was of a family that traced their genealogy for at least two centures. Thomas Hungerford came from the parish of Shetford, England and went to Hartford CT before 1639. A John P. Hungerford was an officer in the Revolution and member of Congress from 1813 to 1817; he died at Turford, VA at age 74. In the next generation was Dexter Hungerford who married Marietta Burr. Gen. Solon Dexter Hungerford was born 12 March 1808. His earliest home was on a farm in Watertown; he entered the dry goods store of Mr. Adriel Ely at age 15. After four years he decided to prepare for a collegiate course, but on the advice of his kinsman, Hon. Orville Hungerford, he took the position of bookkeeper in the Jefferson County Bank for one year. Several promotions followed and friends and family urged him to go into the banking field on his own account under the general banking law of 1838. On 25 October 1845 he opened Hungerford's Bank which was successful until September 1853. He was the founder of Hungerford Collegiate Institute; the school opened with 168 students. Solon married Ann Huntington of Watertown.
Willard Ives was born 7 July 1806 in Watertown, Jefferson Co NY. He married 27 Dec 1827 Charlotte Winslow of Watertown, daughter of Samuel and Lucy Winslow of Watertown, but formerly of Vermont. Charlotte died in 1861 at age 55 years.
Willard's grandfather, Jotham Ives, was of Welsh descent and was born in Cheshire CT in 1743; moved early to Torrington, Litchfield Co where he farmed.
His third son, Titus, was born Dec. 1778 and in 1801 at the age of 23, Titus Ives moved to Watertown Twnshp, NY where he made his permanent home.
Willard married 2) Lucina M. Eddy of Philadelphia, Jefferson Co, (formerly of Oswego Co); she was the daughter of Zepheniah and Sally Eddy, Zepheniah being a native of Rhode Island.
John Johnston was born in Watertown, NY on 11 Sept 1816 and remained in the county. In 1830 he moved to Clayton from Cape Vincent and resided there. In 1846 he was appointed deputy collector of customs. He served in a number of public offices.
Colonel Hiram B. Keene was born in Pompey, Onondaga Co NY on 17 June 1810, son of Job and Nancy Keene. At the age of 12, February 1822, the colonel, in company with his parents and family emigrated to Jefferson Co. and settled in the town of Antwerp. He continued to work for his parents on the farm until he was 21. He married Betsy Doud of Rupert, Bennington Co VT on 17 Jan 1831. She was born 4 Sept 1806. At the time of their marriage the colonel owed for most of his wedding suit and had but two dollars in money, one of which he gave to the minister who married them, and the other dollar he divided equally with his wife. In 1832 he purchased 50 acres of land at $6 per acre, for which he ran into debt. But at the end of two years, it was paid for and then he purchased 25 acres more at $14 per acre. After two years this was also paid for. During this time he discovered an iron ore bed now known as the Keene Ore Bed. Plowing for winter wheat, the plow struck the ore. He sold his interest in the ore bed for $920 but only received $600. Eventually, Colonel Keene became the owner of 1,500 acres of land, strictly by farming. He was both farmer and dairy man having at one time 100 cows. His title of Colonel was a reflection of his capacity as captain in the state militia.
P. G. Keyes was born in Acworth, NH, on 24 Feb 1774. He was a lineal descendant of the sixth generation of Solomon Keyes, who emigrated from England about 1653, as his name is found in Newbury, MA records of that period. At age 15, P. G. Keyes and his brother Frederic, went into the pine regions of Saratoga County and engaged in the lumbering business. After some time he returned to New Hampshire and on 20 Nov 1796, married Lucina White. In 1799 he and his brother, William Keyes, and Amos Stebbins came by way of Montreal and Kingston and settled in the town of Rutland, Jefferson Co NY and they were among the first to purchase land in that town. P. G. Keyes was credited with naming the town of Rutland. He held a variety of public offices and in 1805 was appointed one of the judges of the county court. In 1808 he became sheriff of Jefferson Co. and moved to Watertown in 1809, whereby he exchanged 135 acres of land in Rutland for 55 acres fronting Washington Street, with Dr. Isaiah Massey and received $1,000 in addition. In 1814 he was collector at the port of Sackett's Harbor and also became State Senator in the same year, being re-elected in 1824. P. G. died on 13 May 1834 at 60 years. Son, Perley G. Keyes, was born in Acworth, NY on 6 Sept 1798 and resided in Watertown from 1809 until his death on 25 Nov 1856. At age 34 he was admitted to the bar of Jefferson Co. NY as a lawyer. Perley G. married Laura Becker, daughter of Garret and Sally Becker of Watertown on 7 March 1824. She died 8 June 1828 at age 23 and he married 2)Lydia Pearce, daughter of Allen and Gertrude Pearce of E. Blomfield NY on 22 Sept. 1829.
Reuben Wood Leffingwell was born near Woodville, in the Town of Ellisburg, Jefferson Co. on 7 Dec. 1805, son of Hezekiah Leffingwell, Jr. Hezekiah was born in Connecticut on 6 March 1777 and was an early settler of Ellisburg, arriving there about 1800 from Middleton VT, with his wife, Miriam Wood, to whom he married on 18 Nov 1800. Hezekiah was a soldier in the War of 1812, a pioneer in the settlement of Jefferson Co. He died in 1866, surviving Miriam by about 30 years. Hezekiah Leffingwell, Sr. was a native of Connecticut and a soldier in the Revolutionary War. He married Lydia Wetherell on 26 July 1761. Reuben Wood Leffingwell married Sarah Carpenter at Guildford, VT on 5 June 1831; she was born at Guilford VT on 29 May 1808, daughter of Cyrus Carpenter of Vermont. His father, Benjamin Carpenter, was born in Rehoboth MA in 1726, moved to Vermont in 1770 and was in the Revolutionary War. Reuben brought his wife, Sarah, to Ellisburg and then to the farm. In 1860 Reuben was elected president of the Ellisburg, Adams and Henderson Agric. Society. A. M. Leffingwell, son of Reuben and Sarah, was born in Henderson on 26 Sept. 1842. He attended Michigan University at Ann Arbor and studied law; he was admitted to practice at the Michigan Bar and later to the New York bar. In 1874 he entered the milling business at Henderson which he continued while practicing law. In 1870 he married Hattie Cook.
Asher and Nancy Lewis - in November 1819 Mr. Lewis and wife and daughter of nine months, emigrated from Petersburg to Antwerp and settled on what is known as the Lewis Farm. The first cabin was 12 by 14 feet and had no fireplace. In the following spring a small room was added to afford sleeping apartments for jobbers. After two years Mr. Lewis built a log house that was 18 by 25 feet. Their stock had to be yarded nightly as wolves and panthers were in abundance. Mrs. Lewis made all the clothes for her family out of flax and wool. Finding money to pay taxes was difficult and they had to sell land more than once to pay them. Mr. Lewis died on 28 June 1859 leaving his widow to care for the children. He was about 60 years of age when he died. One of their sons was a soldier in the Civil War and a prisoner for 11 months in Cabawba Alabama. During the War, the Lewis farm passed into the hands of C. G. Hall and during 1869-70 he built his fine residence on that farm.
Alphonso Loomis was born in the town of Champion, Jefferson Co., on 29 Aug 1808, son of John Loomis. The first of the family in America was Joseph Loomis of Braintree, Essex Co. England who settled at Windsor CT in 1638. John Loomis came from CT and settled in Champion during the earliest history of the county. Alphonso made his home with his father until he was 30 although he had previously purchased a farm for himself. On 21 March 1838, he married Lucina Carter and they moved to his farm. He died there on 15 Dec. 1875, leaving a widow and two children. Lucina Carter, his widow was born 22 Nov 1812. Her father, Asa Carter, came from CT and settled in Jefferson about 1800. Her mother was a native of MA.
Thomas Benton Marshall was born in Trenton Falls, Oneida Co, NY on 25 March 1834, son of Romeo W. Marshall, a native of Connecticut. Romeo was born in 1788 and moved to Herkimer NY in 1806; after a few years he moved to Trenton Falls, Oneida Co. where he was engaged in mercantile trade. He settled in Alexandria in 1838 where he purchased and cleared a farm, his residence, until his death in 1874 at 86 years. Thomas Benton Marshal married on 5 April 1855 to Sarah Jane Crabb of the town of LeRay. Thomas purchased the old homestead of 190 acres.
Edward Swain Massey was born in Watertown, 18 October 1806, son of Hart Massey and Lucy Swain, who settled in Watertown in 1800. Edward lived at home until he was 21 and in that year on 28 May 1828 married Nancy Kilbourn of Champion. She died 17 April 1832. He married 2)Esther Bragg, daughter of Jairus Bragg of Newport, Herkimer Co. NY. He engaged in farming, building and is credited with several fine residences in the city of Watertown. He died in March of 1873.
Hart Massey, third son of Deacon Jonathan Massey, was born in Salem, NH on 5 Dec. 1771. In 1792 he moved with the family to Windsor VT and in 1795 married Lucy Swain, the daughter of Deacon Nathaniel Swain. She was a native of Reading, MA and was born in 1771 and had removed to Reading VT with her father's family. After their marriage, they moved to Saltash, now Plymouth. In 1800, Hart Massey came to Watertown where he purchased ninety acres of land to which he added 100 acres and on the ground of the railroad depot. The western part of the city from Washington St. to a line beyond the railroad was his farm. He erected his first cabin o the present site of the Arcade with Henry Coffeen and Zachariah Butterfield. The family moved into their new home on 7 March 1801. Their son, Stillman, was born 10 April 1800 suffered an illness at age 3 which left him deaf, and he led a quiet life as a farmer until age 62, when he moved to Watertown. Stillman married Almira Ingalls, and they celebrated at least 51 years of marriage.
Solon Massey was born in Reading, Windsor Co., VT on 29 July 1798, son of the late Judge Hart Massey who came to Watertown in the spring of 1801. His schooling ended at age 14 and until he was 18 he worked on his father's farm and taught school during the winters. He attended the Aurora Academy in Cayuga Co and met Esther Mary Boalt who later became his wife. In the fall of 1818 he moved to a farm on the Sacket's Harbor road, two miles from Watertown where he lived for 17 years. In 1835 due to a severe injury he had suffered some years before, he removed to Chaumont and engaged in the mercantile business. His wife, an invalid for some years, died there and he married Alathea Bailey, daughter of Capt. Seth Bailey of Watertown. While on a visit to his former home and friends, he was taken sick at the house of his son, Dr. W. P. Massey, in Brownville and died 12 August 1871.
John Moak was born in the town of Carlisle, Schoharie Co., NY on 29 Aug 1820, son of Jacob Moak and Mary Graham. His father, Jacob, was a native of New Scotland, Albany Co NY and his great-grandfather was a native of Holland, who settled in Albany Co in the latter part of the 18th century. His father, a farmer by occupation, had John helping but then John left home and began as a laborer in the construction of the Housatonic Railroad where he worked for six years. After working for various rail lines John came to Watertown NY and engaged as roadmaster on the Rome, Watertown and Oswego railroad, which he continued until January 1869 when he was appointed superintendent of the same road. In 1849 he married Emily Richards, daughter of James Richards of Syracuse, formerly of New England. Son, George W. Moak, attended college in Canada and returned to Watertown where he was employed in the law offices of Judge Merwin and after three years, admitted to the bar.
Pliny Monroe was born in Delhi, Delaware Co NY on 17 July 1804, son of Noah and Luisa Monroe. His mother, of German birth, emigrated to America when she was six years old with her father and mother. In 1811 Noah Monroe moved from Delaware Co to Rodman. Pliny lived at home until he was 16 and then went to live with Egbert Champlin, his brother-in-law, until he was of age. At 21 he was to receive a colt and pair of steers, but after serving his time, he only received the colt. Going out on his own, he began farming. At 23 he married Samantha Ball of Rutland, daughter of Elihu Ball who was formerly of New Jersey. Samantha was born 9 October 1807. They purchased and enlarged a farm and in 1864 moved to Copenhagen but after three years moved to Watertown where they resided. Pliny and Samantha celebrated their golden wedding on 17 July 1877; the celebration included four generations of the Monroe family.
Joseph Mullin was born 6 August 1811 near Dromon, county of Down, Ireland, son of John and Martha Mullin. Part of the family emigrated to the United States around 1820 and the rest shortly thereafter where they settled first at Brownville and later in Watertown. Joseph Mullin was in the printing and newspaper business in Watertown. Eventually in 1836, he became a lawyer and in 1837 was admitted to practice. In January 1839 he married Lydia M. Ten Eyck of Watertown, daughter of Hon. Egbert Ten Eyck, one of the judges of the Court of Common Pleas of Jefferson County. In 1846 he was elected member of Congress and represented the Jefferson district in the 30th Congress. In 1857 he was elected justice of the Supreme Court in and for the fifth judicial district, State of NY. By age 67, he had been an active attorney for 20 years and justice of the Supreme Court for also 20 years.
Isaac Munson was born in the town of Salisbury, Herkimer Co NY on 4 March 1812. His father was a well off farmer. Isaac attended the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Western NY and in 1834 received his degree as Doctor of Medicine. He located soon after in Black River country in partnership with Dr. Ira A. smith of Evans Mills. He married Cornelia Stebbins of Rutland on 24 May 1836 and moved to Watertown where he held a variety of offices and other accomplishments. (Transcriber note: Jane Munson, sister of Isaac Munson, was married to Dr. William G. Comstock of LeRay, Jefferson Co)
Hiram T. Nutting was born at Hartford CT in 1816. His father was a native of the same place and was born in 1782; he emigrated to the town of Antwerp in 1820 with his wife and two children-Hiram T. and Mary. He died in 1827 and his wife in 1837. Hiram was by occupation a farmer. He married in 1843 to Mary Ann Gates, daughter of E. Gates. She died in 1862 leaving six children Hiram married for his second wife, the sister (Sarah) of his wife in 1864; she died in May 1872. In 1848 Mr. Nutting bought the farm where he lived and raised his family.
Alexander Parker was born on 3 September 1787 in Ackworth, Cheshire Co NH, son of James and Martha Parker, who came to Watertown NY in 1801. James Parker bought about 320 acres of timberland and with help from his boys, cleared a large farm. The farm was located on the road from Watertown to Brownsville. James Parker received an award from the Jefferson Co Agricultural Society for fruit and best cultivated orchard in the county and also made the first barrel of cider that was manufactured in the county. James Parker was a soldier of the Revolutionary War but never received a pension and three of his sons were in the battle of Sackett's Harbor in the War of 1812. James died in 1828 and Martha Parker died in 1841; the father age 64 and the mother age 72. Alexander was 14 when he came to Jefferson Co. At 17 he went on foot back to New Hampshire and remained with his grandfather for about a year attending school. He then returned to Watertown and with his father, bought 50 acres in Antwerp; the property contained valuable ledges of rocks and Alexander intended to manufacture millstones from the rock. Alexander's uncle was a millwright and suggested making the millstones and together they built the first grist mill erected in Jefferson Co, which was located at Burr's Mills. The manufactured stones were taken in sleighs to Rochester and other areas. On 15 Jan 1808 Alexander married Betsey Bartholomew, daughter of Deacon Oliver Bartholomew of Watertown. Deacon Bartholomew was also a pioneer coming in the year of 1800. Alexander and Betsey lived in a log cabin at Antwerp for about a year and then returned to Watertown. He worked his father's farm for a few years and in 1815 bought a farm owned by his youngest son, James A. Parker. Alexander died 29 May 1871, and his wife survived him.
Jeremiah Parker was born in Watertown on 20 March 1814, son of Cratus and Olive Parker. Cratus was a native of Berkshire Co MA. Oliver Parker's maiden name was Fuller and was a native of Vermont. She came with her father to the town of Rodman when she was 14, her father being a pioneer of the town. Cratus Parker came to Watertown early in the century and his father were among the first settlers of the county. Cratus moved to the town of Adams when Jeremiah was 10; he remained in Adams until he was 33 and then returned to Watertown and purchased a 190 acre farm, which he enlarged to 540 acres. While living in Adams on 26 Sept 1836 he married Fransina Kenyon, daughter of Thomas B. and Rachel Kenyon of Amsterdam, Montgomery Co NY. Her father and mother were both natives of Rhode Island and lived their last years with daughter, Fransina Parker. Thomas B. Kenyon died at 85 years in 1864 and Rachel Kenyon died in 1847 at age 68. Jeremiah died on 19 May 1872 and his wife survived him; she lived with her sons on the old homestead.
Winslow Pattridge was born in Chesterfield, Cheshire Co. NY on 1 July 1791, son of Joseph and Sarah Pattridge of New England. His father was of Scotch descent, but his mother, Sarah Warren, was a daughter of Captain Warren. His father was a farmer by occupation. Winslow lived at home until he was of age and then went out on his own where he learned cloth dressing and wool carding. He and Jonathan Wood partnered in Otsego Co in the same business and in 1818 Winslow moved to Jefferson Co. and settled in Watertown. Prior to leaving Otsego Co, he married Levina Wood, daughter of Jonathan Wood of MA, in 1816. On coming to Watertown he began his cloth dressing and wool carding business and began manufacturing cloth, which he continued until 1846. He rented his mill and retired from active business; the following year the mill burned which was a total loss to him. Winslow Pattridge died 2 June 1864 in his 73rd year. His wife survived him.
Abner W. Peck was born in the town of Brownsville, Jefferson Co., NY on 8 Feb 1822, son of Eliphalet Peck and Lois Webb. Eliphalet Peck served at Sackett's Harbor during the War of 1812. He died in Clayton NY in 1868 in his 84th year. His wife, Lois Webb, was a native of CT. Eliphalet Peck was a farmer and Abner followed during the summer months and school during the winter months. At 17 he began teaching school and alternated between teaching and working on the farm. When quite young, he was elected as superintendent of schools for the town of Clayton, where he and his father's family had moved in 1825. In 1856 he was elected to the state legislature and in 1875 was made sheriff of the county. In 1852 he married Laura Pearsons, daughter of Esquire Chesterfield Pearsons, of the town of Orleans, and closely identified with the history of LaFargeville. Upon becoming sheriff of the county, the family removed to Watertown.
Asahel Read was born in Schuyler, Herkimer Co NY on 26 May 1795, son of Roger Read of Bennington VT. His mother, Lydia Perry, was born in Shaftsbury VT; her father-a Revolutionary War Captain, was killed in battle. Roger Read moved his family to Jefferson Co NY and settled in the town of Adams in 1806. Asahel's part was to drive an ox team the entire distance, loaded with household goods. Asahel had little education and worked on his father's farm until he was 27, and until his father had paid for the farm. After leaving home and in 1822 Asahel married Mary Bartlett, born in Granby MA on 25 Feb 1796, daughter of Ebenezer Bartlett of New England. He bought 100 acres of land and made additions to his farm. In 1863 he moved to Watertown.
Austin Robbins was born on 23 Sept. 1786 at Marlborough MA. As a young man he learned the wagon maker trade and combined with farming was his life business. He was among the early settlers of Jefferson Co. and settled in Hounsfield. He married Eunice Morton of Cortland Co., NY who was born on 3 November 1788. Austin died on 27 October 1867 and Eunice on 6 July 1863.
Col. Elias Sage was born in Sandersfield MA on 27 Feb 1799. The family moved to Lewis Co NY in 1800. At age 16, Elias was apprenticed to learn the trade of carpenter and house builder and finished his apprenticeship at age 21. He took odd jobs to earn money and then invested it in real estate, purchasing his first land at age 24. He liked agriculture and devoted his entire attention to farming after he became 40 years old. His home was in Champion NY since 1815. At a young age he enter the militia as a corporal in the Fourteenth NY Cavalry. Several promotions led him to the title of Colonel. Elias married Hannah White of Rutland on 7 Jan. 1827; she died on 25 October 1844. He married 2) Emily O. Randall at Troy, NY on 18 Jan 1847.
Joseph Sawyer was born in Plymouth VT on 7 March 1794, son of Deacon Thomas Sawyer (b 7 Sept 1757) and Susannah Wilder (b 3 Dec 1756). Thomas was a lineal descendant of Thomas Sawyer from Lincolnshire England who settled in Rowley, Essex MA in 1639. Thomas Jr., son of the emigrant, with his son, Elias, were taken prisoners by Indians and carried into captivity in Canada on 15 October 1705. They were taken to Upper Canada and given up to the governor. As prisoners they built the first sawmill in that country. The governor released them after they had taught others how to run the mill. Elias returned to MA and married 1)Beatrice Houghton and 2)Miss Hart. Their son, Thomas, with wife Susannah moved in 1779 to Plymouth VT where they struggled for 12 years. He disposed of his property and in the fall of 1800 came on horseback to explore the wilderness in search of cheap and good land. When he arrived at Watertown, he found Judge Coffeen and Captain Butterfield with their families, each living in a log cabin. Being a carpenter, Thomas helped to hew out floor plank from basswood logs. He settled some land in the southeast part of town which was occupied by successive generations. Thomas returned to Vermont for his family and in 18 days were at Judge Hubbard's home in Champion. They left their teams at Jonah Woodruff's and came on to Watertown, where they put up at their old neighbor's home, Hart Massey, who had arrived on 7 March, eleven days before them. He and his wife were two of the nine person who organized the first Congregational church in the town at Burr's Mills in 1803. Thomas died in 1825 at 68 years and his wife, Miss Hart, at 91 years. Joseph was only seven when his father came to Watertown. In 1818 Joseph married Mary Pepper, daughter of William Pepper. She was born in Otsego Co in 1797 and came to Jefferson Co in 1809. She died in Watertown on 12 April 1873. Joseph lived to 81 years and died 3 Dec 1874.
Leonard Seaton was born in Granville, Washington Co, NY on 1 Aug 1794. At age 13, he was apprenticed to Rufus Barnes of Rome NY to learn the trades of tanning, currying and boot and shoe making at which he served for seven years. In March of 1814, he volunteered as a private soldier in the War of 1812 and marched to Sackett's Harbor where he served and received an honorable discharge. In 1817 he moved to Jefferson Co. and purchased lands in the towns of Ellisburg and Henderson, where he continued to work during the summer months until 1820, when he became a permanent settler in Ellisburg. In 1822 he married Polly Pennell, a native of Oneida Co., NY. In July of 1834 Polly died and Leonard married 2)Sarah C. Chapman. In 1837 Leonard moved to the town of Henderson where he continued to reside until his death on 15 August 1872 at age 78 and 15 days. Leonard Seaton, Jr., the son , was born 18 July 1827 and attended Belleville Academy. In 1862 he closed out his business at a sacrifice and enlisted in the Civil War. When he mustered out in 1865 his health was considerably impaired. For a number of years he carried on the tanning, currying, boot and shoe business but afterwards went into ship building. He built three of the largest lake boats that went through the canal, an aggregate tonnage of 1700 tons. He was also in the mercantile business for some years while attending to his farms, a total of 550 acres. In 1850 he married Harriet A. Bates. She died in 1859 and he married 2) Mrs. Stephen W. Chapman who survived him.
Henry W. Shead was born in the town of Champion on 11 April 1819. In 1862 he began a milling business in Watertown, having purchased the old Union millls. On 9 September 1855, he married Caroline L. Carpenter, of Watertown who, after 22 years of marriage, died on 9 June 1877.
John A. Sherman was born in the town of Rutland, Jefferson Co on 13 June 1809, son of Alfred Sherman and grandson of Dr. Abel Sherman, who was a native of Massachusetts. John Sherman's mother was Susan Hull, an adopted daughter of Roswald Woodruff who came to Jefferson County when it was a trackless wilderness and was one of the pioneer men. John Sherman's grandfather, Dr. Abel Sherman was a physician and moved from Brimfield, MA to Clinton, Oneida Co NY. He remained there a short time and moved to Rutland, Jefferson County, in 1803 where he settled on 220 acres of timberland. He was the first sheriff of Jefferson County and one of the early pioneers. Alfred Sherman, father of John, was a farmer but during the War of 1812, as a contractor of the army, lost most of his property. Alfred Sherman died in 1827, at which time John took over the family farm and support of his mother and siblings. At 23 in 1832, John married Julia Ann Larned of Rutland and in 1834 opened a dairy business for Jefferson County.
David C. Shuler was born on 27 January 1800 in Montgomery Co NY, son of John and Hannah Shuler. John as the son of Lawrence Shuler, a native of Germany, who on landing in New York was sold to pay his passage. David worked on his father's farm until he became of age and married Penilla Butler, daughter of John and Elizabeth Butler of Montgomery Co. They worked on a rented farm on shares until 1836 when they moved to Jefferson County on 27 March of that year. It was there that they purchased 50 acres of timbered land. They enlarged the farm to 150 acres. Penilla died on 29 Aug 1840 and he married 2) Mrs. Elizabeth Loodwick on 2 March 1843. In 1836 David crossed the St. Lawrence to Kingston to buy seed and there was only enough water in the river to form the ice for a sleigh to run on.
Hon. Alanson Skinner was born at Westmoreland NH on 21 May 1794, son of Timothy Skinner. In 1814 he came to Brownville from his native state. He was active in the War of 1812 and served under Gen. Jacob Brown. Alanson owned and conducted an extensive foundry and stove works. His firm was known as Skinner & Davis. Alanson served in various public offices and was village president in 1836. In 1850 he represented his district in the State senate. On 29 Sept 1819 Alanson married Mary Woodward. Alanson died on 7 June 1876 at 82. His wife survived him.
Francis Smiley was born 13 May 1792 in Vermont, son of John and Elizabeth Smiley of Scottish origin. When Francis was nine he went to live with an uncle in Litchfield, Herkimer Co NY and remained there until he was 14; at that time his father and family removed from Vermont to Jefferson County and Francis joined them in Watertown. John Smiley died about 1812 and Elizabeth about 1847. When Francis was 23 in 1815, he married Betsy Adams, daughter of Shubael and Anna Adams of CT but in Watertown at the time of marriage. Betsy was born 27 June 1797. Francis first settled in Rutland but after a few years lived at Burrville for a year and then removed to Watertown and settled on a farm. Francis died 16 Feb 1975 and Betsy died 13 October 1869.
Dr. Gordon P. Spencer was born in Salisbury, Litchfield Co CT on 29 April 1789, son of Eliphaz Spencer, a lineal descendant of William Spencer, who with brothers Thomas and Jared, were among the first settlers of Hartford, CT. Eliphaz, father of Gordon P., was a farmer by occupation; his mother was the daughter of Thomas and Margaret Hall of E. Haddam CT. Gordon received his medical degree in New London in 1812. He was engaged in the 1812 War. After the fight at Fort Erie, the army went into winter quarters and Gordon was engaged in the hospital at Sacket's Harbor. After the War and on his way back to Litchfield, Gordon stopped to assist Dr. Durkee of Champion in attending a man who had his leg crushed; they made a partnership arrangement and after a short visit to Connecticut, Gordon returned to Champion. The following year he married Deborah Mallery of Rutland, formerly of Litchfield CT. His extended practice took him to Lewis, Oneida, Oswego, St. Lawrence counties and Canada. The books on which he kept his accounts since 1814 showed over four thousand names and over thirty thousand dollars for which he received no remuneration. He spent 42 years as a doctor in Champion with the emphasis that the poor were always his first care. In 1854 he suffered from a fever that would not allow him to continue his heavy schedule and in 1857 he moved to Watertown. He died 25 March 1859.
Hon. Henry Spicer was born 20 October 1820 at Brownville Jefferson Co NY, son of Silas F. and Charlotte Spicer. In 1821 Silas moved his family to Perch River where he pursued farming and the manufacture of boots and shoes. Silas was also the instigator of the first abolition organization in the town of Brownville and was also involved in the temperance cause. Between the ages of 14 and 21, Henry worked in the summer on a farm and attended school in the winter. At 21 he began teaching school in winter and working his trade, that of a carpenter and joiner in the summer, until the fall of 1846 when he formed a co-partnership with his brother-in-law, Hugh Smith, member of the Assembly in 1874. They were in the merchandising business, farming, manufacture of potash and dealt extensively in cattle. Henry retired in the fall of 1864. He continued to farm and breed horses. In September 1848, Henry married Delia E. Allen, daughter of Capt Beriah and Diana Allen of Brownville. Capt. Allen was connected with the State militia. Henry Spicer had two brothers in the Union Army during the Civil war-Edward and George; George was killed at the battle of Antietam.
A. D. Stanley was born 5 July 1818 in Rutland, Jefferson Co., (where his father had moved to in 1810). In 1823, A. D. moved with his father to the farm later occupied by O. MN. Stanley, which adjoined the one where he resided. A. D. Stanley married Mary Benjamin, daughter of Jonas Benjamin, an early and respected settler of the Town of Hounsfield. A. D.'s father was a minuteman in a cavalry regiment in the War of 1812 and stationed at Sackett's Harbor.
N. W. Streeter was born in Hampshire Co, MA on 10 Jan 1804, son of Elijah and Abigail Streeter. His father was a native of Vermont and his mother of Massachusetts. In 1819, Elijah and Abigail Streeter moved to the town of Champion, Jefferson Co., and carried on the shoemaking trade, until a short time before his death, when he moved to Watertown and resided with son, Nelson Streeter. Elijah died 21 Aug 1830 age 49 years. Abigail Streeter died before leaving Massachusetts, on 20 May 1806 age 23 years. Nelson in the year 1821 apprenticed to Thomas Peck of Watertown, to learn the tailoring business and after three years, having served his full term, established himself as a tailor. By 1844 he opened a read-made clothing house, manufacturing most of his goods. In 1864 he turned the business over to his son, John C. Streeter. In 1828 at age 24 Nelson married Aurelia A. Parsons, daughter of Widow Parsons of Lewis Co., NY. She died on 19 Jan. 1837 at age 27. Nelson married 2)Eunice H. Burpee of Jefferson Co, Town of Lorraine, on 22 October 1837.
Judge W. C. Thompson was born in Burlington, Otsego Co., NY where he worked on his father's farm, his father being William Thompson. In his early manhood he taught school in Oswego, Madison and other counties. His memory was so good that he entered the legal profession in Auburn, NY with Judge Gridley and was admitted to the bar in 1834. In 1842 he married Antoinette Chittenden, daughter of Judge Chittenden. In 1852 the family moved to Watertown, NY. He died 12 January 1876 in his 66th year.
Ebenezer Tolman was the son of Ebenezer and Mary Tolman. Ebenezer Tolman Sr. was a native of Attleborough MA and a lineal descendant of Thomas Tolman who emigrated from England and settled in Dorchester MA in 1635. Ebenezer's grandmother on his father's side was Mary Slack, daughter of Deacon Benjamin Slack of Attleborough MA. His mother was the daughter of William and Sarah Clarke. William Clarke was a descendant of Dr. Adam Clarke and his wife, Sarah Locke, a descendant of William Locke who came to America in 1634. Ebenezer Tolman Sr was a carpenter and joiner by trade and farmed to some extent. He was a soldier at the battle of Bunker Hill and accompanied Arnold on the expedition against Quebec and was taken prisoner there by the British. In an attempt to break out of prison he was placed in irons and remained chained for several months. Upon his release he re-entered the army and was appointed sergeant but his health failed and he was obliged to leave the army. He died 27 Dec 1838 at 90 years. Ebenezer Jr. came to Jefferson Co. with his brother William and sisters Betsy, Cynthia and Mary in 1817. Ebenezer Jr. married Hopeful Randall of MA on 5 May 1816 She died on 23 March 1845. Their son, Augustus was born in 1818 and age 35 in 1853, married Sarah Louisa Goddard, daughter of Nathan F. and Matilda Goddard of Clayton Jefferson Co. They reside on the old homestead.
William Tolman was born in Nelson NH on 7 Nov 1795, son of Ebenezer and Mary Tolman William was the brother of Ebenezer Jr. At the time of his first visit to Jefferson County, William was 22 and remained four years as a laborer; he returned to MA where he remained for six years and on 9 October 1827 he married Mary Bancroft, daughter of Timothy and Abigail Bancroft, natives of MA. After William married, he returned to Jefferson County, Watertown, and settled, where he built a farm of 320 acres.
Joel Torrey was born on 31 August 1785; he married Eddy Howard on 17 January 1811 and moved to Lorraine in 1811; their first child John Spafford Torrey was born there on 13 Nov. 1811. Joel served in the War of 1812 as a volunteer. He stayed on the field of blood to see the wounded and the sight was such that he would later say that he would never use a gun against his fellow man. It was during the war that he made brick where the Winslow Block stood. From there he moved to Sackett's Harbor; opened a boarding house for 300 persons but went to work for Abraham Jewitt making brick in summer and coopering in the winter months. He was something of a mechanical genius by inventing a jointing machine that was successful. It was used in making pails, buckets, and wash tubs which previously were made by hand. Too poor to get the patent, he did not become wealthy from the invention. In 1826 he moved to Watertown and for four seasons carried on a brickyard for Edward Massey where the railroad junction buildings stood. He made two to three hundred thousand bricks in a season. In 1830 he went into the northern part of Lyme, now Cape Vincent, and took a contract of 50 acres of land, all woods at $3 per acre. It was there that he built a log house and on 1 March 1831 moved from Watertown into the Tuttle and Warren settlement. He took his family except for his son, Levi, who stayed in Watertown to attend school. Joel lived at Lyme for eight or nine years, cleared 50 acres and took a contract of 220 acres adjoining his farm; he sold an undivided half of the whole to Allen Cole and after a lawsuit with Cole, he came into possession of 109 acres of the farm. In 1846 he sold his farm of 59 acres to his son, G. R. Torrey, and moved to Illinois for three years; a few years later he moved to Geneva WI where his wife, Eddy, died in her 73rd year. He then moved to Minnesota where he spent the last year of his life. He died at 89 years at the residence of his son, F. O. Torrey.
Joel Torrey was born in 1785 at Chesterfield, NH. Levi Torrey was born in 1789, also at Chesterfield. The brothers came into Jefferson County at the same time and settled in the Town of Lorraine prior to the War of 1812. During the War, Levi received a commission and had command of a company of men and served his country with honor. After the war he taught school in different parts of the county and finally settled in the village of Brownville. A brickmaker by trade, he made the brick for his home. In 1832 his wife died of cholera, an epidemic sent him and his children to visit his brother, Joel, who had a year before moved into the woods at Lyme. Levi regained his health and he returned to Brownville where he married a second time. In that same year he moved into the Warren Settlement where his sixth daughter was born. He owned 50 acres of good land, combined with his surveying ability, until 1857 when he and his two sons-in-laws and entire family but one, moved to Adams County, WI where he was chosen as county surveyor. He remained there until his death on 18 October 1875 at the residence of his son-in-law, Hon. L. Cook, at age 86; his second wife survived him.
Dr. Amasa Trowbridge was born in Pomfret,. Windham Co, CT on 17 May 1779. His parents were farmers and of New England. At age 17 he began studying with Dr. Avery Downer of Preston City, New London Co., a veteran surgeon of the Revolutionary War. At age 20 he was admitted to practice and moved to Lanesboro MA, where he practiced with Dr. Jarvis. At age 26 in 1805, he married Gloriana H. Billings of Lanesboro, MA. They moved to Trenton, Oneida Co, NY where he associated with Dr. Luther Guiteau, and became well know for his practice of surgery. In 1809 he moved with his family to Watertown NY where he entered a large and extensive practice in company with Dr. Paul Hutchinson. As War was declared on June 18, 1812, Brigadier General Brown of Brownsville, selected Dr. Trowbridge as his appointment to surgeon in the militia of Jefferson, Lewis and St. Lawrence counties. He was appointed and under General Brown's orders, organized and arranged hospital quarters at Sacket's Harbor, Cape Vincent and Ogdensburgh. His headquarters were mostly at Sacket's Harbor during the winter of 1812-13. In 1834 he was appointed Professor of Surgery and Medical Jurisprudence in the Willoughby University of Lake Erie in Ohio. In 1838 he gave up his practice in Jefferson County, to his son, Amasa, Jr. and moved his family to Painesville, Ohio, ten miles from the medical college. In 1841 his hopes for his talented son, with whom he had left his practice, were blasted apart when he learned of his son's death which occurred in Watertown by a pair of runaway horses, which threw young Amasa to the pavement with such force that it broke his neck. Upon learning the sad news of his son, Amasa returned to the practice in Jefferson Co. and in 1841 again settled in Watertown where he remained until his death on 11 April 1859 age 80. Another son, William R. Trowbridge, was born in Watertown on 22 Aug. 1816. He had moved to Louisville, KY but on learning of his brother's death, came back to Watertown and began studying medicine with his father. He also gained skill and reputation as being a highly sought after surgeon. In 1848 he married Louisa M. Smith, daughter of Sylvester and Rose Smith of Watertown.
A. W. Twining was born on the farm in Champion, Jefferson Co NY on 3 Sept 1822, son of William and Ovarida Twining. William settled on the old homestead in 1818, having come from Massachusetts. A. W. attended school in Jefferson County and for a short time in Lowville. He worked on the family farm and on reaching majority worked in partnership with his father for a few years. He then purchased a 75 acre farm; in 1858 he purchased his father's homestead.
Russell Wallace was born 3 July 1806, son of John Wallace (born 1777) of MA, and Anna Nevens, born in New Hampshire. John and Anna were married in 1796 and came to New York State in 1806 and settled in the woods, two miles back of Henderson NY village. John Wallace was called out in the War of 1812. Russell lived with his father until he was 21. Russell did some traveling and then returned to Henderson where he went into business with his father; he then bought the farm where he and his wife, Susan J. Bell, resided. Russell died on 22 Aug 1871 at 65 years. The parents of Mrs. Russell Wallace were Thomas Bell (born in Scotland 1781) and Margaret Lockie, born 1783 in Scotland. The Bells moved to Sackett's Harbor, where they took up land on the shore of Henderson Bay. Mr. Bell died in 1861; his wife died in 1867. Susan J. Bell married in 1834 to Capt. J. L. Keelen who died in 1836 from injuries received when thrown from a horse. When her first husband died, Susan returned to her parent's home in Henderson and married in 1841 to Russell Wallace.
Azariah Walton was born in Chesterfield NH on 20 Aug 1784. Little is known of his history. He became a blacksmith and an expert machinist. He emigrated to Jefferson County prior to the War of 1812. At the time, Brownville was building and he was engaged to supervise the constructio nof the cotton mills there. He remained at Brownville until 1824 when he moved to Theresa where he was in merchandising until 1828. He then received the appointment of collector of customs for the port of Alexandria Bay, which he held for 19 years. In 1845 he and Chesterfield Pearson, purchased all the islands in the American channel of the St. Lawrence River from the head of Wells Island to Morristown. Many of the smaller islands he sold for a nominal sum but the major portion were in his possession at his death on 10 June 1855. On 29 May 1810 he married Mary Gilson, who was born on 15 Nov 1791.
Chauncey Westcott was from Massachusetts and Rhode Island ancestry; his mother was born I the town of Cheshire, MA on 20 Sept 1784 and his father, Henry Westcott, in Rhode Island on 15 October 1778. Henry Westcott moved with his father's family to Oneida Co NY and married Amy Dexter Cushing in 1803. He died on 24 Oct 1855 and his wife in October 1870. Chauncey was born in Deerfield, Oneida Co NY on 10 Dec 1804. The following January, his father, Henry, moved to Jefferson Co. Chauncey lived in the county until January 1831 when he removed to Onondaga Co where he remained for four years, returning to Alexandria in 1835. In 1832 Chauncy married Emeline Everson, daughter of Isaac and Charity Everson, natives of Montgomery Co NY. She was born in the town of Manlius, Onondaga Co on 27 Sept 1812. Of their children, Willson H. Westcott was born in Cicero, Onondaga Co. on 20 Nov 1833 and married Jane Thompson in January 1844. Daughter Emeline F. was born in Alexandria on 12 Sept. 1835 and married Charles Woodworth in Feb. 1858. Both adult children resided in Alexandria Bay. Chauncey was engaged in several enterprises; he rafted lumber from Alexandria Bay down the St. Lawrence to Quebec and also kept a hotel for five years at Alexandria Bay.
Lawrence Weston was born at Mason, Hillsborough Co. NH on 19 Nov 1795.
Early in life he was an apprentice in the tannery business and continued
to follow the trade until he was 28. He married Jane Humphrey of
Herkimer co. NY on 21 July 1822. She was born in Herkimer Co on 4 Dec
In 1817 Lawrence emigrated to LeRay Township, Jefferson Co NY, then to Rutland, and in March 1824 he settled in Antwerp on the farm later owned by his son, Clark. Lawrence died on 15 March 1858. Mrs. Weston survived him and lived on the old homestead. Son, Clark Weston, was born 26 July 1831.
A. A. Wheeler was born at Mannsville Township on 18 July 1836, son of Philip Wheeler. Philip Wheeler was born near Troy, Rensselaer Co NY on 30 June 1800 on a 1200 acre tract of land purchased by his father from the Van Rensselaer estate. Philip was a descendant from English and Dutch parentage; Philip's father was a New York slaveholder, and Philip inherited the slaves whom he manumitted at once. After settling his father's estate, Philip moved to Troy and in 1824 maried Roxanna Shepherd, daughter of Thomas Shepherd, whose wife was a descendant of the Browns of Rhode Island, owners of the John Brown Tract. The Shepherd family was from New Hampshire and Boston. Philip Wheeler with his wife and father-in-law came to Jefferson County in 1825 and purchased an improved large tract of land near Mannsville. Philip cleared his portion, sold it and moved into the village where he purchased the property of Daniel Wardell who was then a member of Congress from the district. While in the village, Philip Wheeler was in mercantile pursuits and farmed as well. Eventually he disposed of his mercantile operation and focused his attention on the farm. He sold most of the western portion, leaving one hundred acres with the homestead. The portion that was sold became much of the village. A. A. Wheeler attended Union College at Schenectady and graduated in 1858. In 1859 he graduated from the Albany Law School; he entered the law office of Starbuck and Sawyer at Watertown and began practice at Mannsville in 1860. He served in the Civil War.
Hazael S. White was born 26 July 1804 in Vermont, son of Solomon and Hannah (Simon) White. The migration of the White family led to Antwerp, Jefferson Co. NY. Solomon purchased a very small farm. Hannah died and Solomon moved from his farm and lived with a son in the town of Redwood. During the War of 1812, the White family, like their neighbors, endured hardships and shortages. At age 24, Hazael went into business at Cape Vincent as a butcher but making no money he left the business and moved to Brownville, at Pillar Point. After a year he moved to Hounsfield and worked for Amos Catlin for four years. Hen then returned to the Point and purchased a small farm and became a jobber. Dexter Village was just building so Hazael contracted to quarry the stone for the woolen factory. The undertaking required a large number of men. At the close of that job, he contracted to grade on Sackett's Harbor and Ellisburg railroad. He then purchased a farm in Brownville and began farming. After two years he exchanged his farm for one later owned by his son, E. T. White, who purchased the same of his father two years afterwards. Hazael was about 50 when he retired. He died on 17 Jan 1873 at Pillar Point. Hazael married at Cape Vincent on 16 Sept 1829 to Mary Root, daughter of John and Mary Root. They had settled at Pillar Point prior to the War of 1812, the third family to locate there.
Egbert D. Whitney was born in the village of Watertown on 19 Feb 1822, son of Job Whitney and Sylva Delano. Job came to Watertown from Vermont when ten, with his father, Job Whitney Sr. as early as 1802. Job was a farmer and a soldier in the War of 1812 and was engaged in the battle of Sackett's Harbor. Besides farming he engaged in lumbering, shipping to Oswego. When Egbert was 29 in 1851 he married Ann Safford, daughter of Joseph Safford of Oswego Co.
Truman Orson Whitney was born in Henderson, Jefferson Co. on 11 March 1813, son of Erastus and Hannah Whitney. Erastus married first to Hannah Jerome. He married 2)Betsy Wood. Erastus died in October 1855 and the step-mother, Betsy, died in 1874. Betsy Wood was the daughter of James and Barbara (Ireland) Wood. James died in 1856 and Barbara in 1861. Martha Wood, sister of Betsy, married T. O. Whitney in Ellisburg, Jefferson Co on 12 March 1840; they moved to Henderson on April 10 of the same year where they resided until his death and the widow continued to live. T. O. Whitney died on 3 March 1876 at 63. He was a pioneer, having immigrated nearly 50 years prior to his death.
Frederick Williams was born on the homestead in Jefferson County on 17 March 1828 and was the son of Alexander and Rhoda (Reed) Williams. His grandfather, Othniel, was born in Providence RI and one of the first settlers in Chester, VT. His grandmother's surname was Field and of Providence. Othniel was born in Chester VT on 21 April 1794. In 1818 he came to Ellisburg and bough 154 acres from Nathan Lapham, situated two miles west of Belleville, which was all woods. He stayed for about a year and then returned to Vermont and married Rhoda Reed of Rockingham VT. After the marriage they moved to the farm in Jefferson County and occupied it until Othniel's death which occurred on 21 April 1876. Frederick lived on the homestead until he was 24; he married on 9 March 1853 to Cordelia Swan, daughter of Dewey and Polly (Rounds) Swan. Cordelia died on 27 June 1871 and Frederick married 2) on 23 March 1873 to Marienette Swan, sister of his first wife. In 1866 Frederick, whose farm was about one mile east of Belleville, was engaged in growing peas and beans for the seed trade, which became highly successful.
Russell Wilmot was the son of Asher Wilmot who came to Champion NY in 1804 and bought the farm on which he lived for the rest of his life. The farm then came into possession of his son, Russell. Asher died at about 70 years of age. Russell Wilmot died at Champion at 72 years.
Bradley Winslow was born 1 August 1831 at his father's home, the late Hon. John Winslow, near Watertown. He was but 14 when his mother died and though was skilled in farm labor, he entered the study of law with Hon. James F. Starbuck in 1853, at age 22. In 1854 he entered the law school at Poughkeepsie and in July of the next spring was admitted as a practicing lawyer. Bradley was active in the Civil War and received several promotions. In Dec. 1862 he received an honorable discharge due to the typhoid fever which had impaired his health and forced his resignation. In 1875 he was elected Mayor of Watertown NY .
John Winslow was the son of Samuel Winslow, who was born in Warwick, MA on 21 April 765. Samuel Winslow moved with his parents to Pomfret, VT where his parents died. John's grandmother's maiden name was Goodspeed. Samuel Winslow married Lucy Frasier in 1794 and they were at Woodstock VT, where John was born on 19 Dec 1802. Samuel and Lucy Winslow, after eleven years of marriage, in May of 1807, moved from Woodstock to the Black River Country and settled on a forest covered farm about three miles from Watertown, NY. The area was known as Smithville or Field Settlement Road. John spent one term at the Lowville Academy in Lewis Co. On 18 October 1827 at age 25, he married Betsey Collins, daughter of John Collins who at that time lived about a mile and one-half from Watertown, on what is known as the Beaver Meadow Road. In January of 1826, John was commissioned ensign of light infantry in the 76th Regiment of Infantry by Gov. De Witt Clinton. By 1828 he was promoted to captain. John's mother died 26 Aug 1826 and his father on 21 Dec. 1832. Three years after his father's death, John purchased the heir's shares of the farm of 200 acres. His wife died at age 37. He married 2) on 23 May 1844 to Sarah Bates, daughter of Esq. Merrick Bates of Hounfield, who survived John
Charles T. Woodruff was born in Watertown on 25 Dec 1814, son of Simeon and Rosannah Woodruff who were among the first settlers there. Simeon was a native of Litchfield Co, CT and prior to his marriage settled in Oneida Co, NY and there married in 1798 to Rosannah Adams, daughter of Roderick Adams of Simsbury CT. In 1799 Simeon left Steuben, Oneida Co and with his brother, Benjamin, came to Watertown where they settled. In the fall of 1799, Simeon returned to Steuben where he spent the winter and in the spring with is wife and child, Chloe, returned to Watertown. His first farm was 100 acres and after a few years, he sold the farm to his brother, Benjamin, and moved to Pamelia where he resided until 1843; he then returned to Watertown where he died in 1853 at age 80. Rosannah Woodruff lived to be 100 and died in June of 1876. Charles T. Woodruff was both farmer and brick maker in Watertown.In 1850 at 35, he married Mary Ann Clark, daughter of John Clark of Ellisburg, Jefferson Co.
N. M. Woodruff was born in Litchfield Co, CT on 7 Sept 1792, son of Roswell and Lois Patterson Woodruff. In about 1805 he came with his father's family to Jefferson Co, and located near Sanford's Corners in the Town of LeRay, where he purchased a thousand acres of land, the farms of Captain Thomas Jewett and Octavo Blanc being part of the purchase. During the War of 1812, he was called out to serve in a cavalry regiment and engaged principally on picket duty. About 1816 he came to Watertown and began a tin, hardware, iron and stove trade. On 5 October 1817 he married Roxana T. Bush, daughter of Eli and Roxana Terry Bush, natives of CT. Roxana T. Bush was born in Oneida Co., NY. Soon after his marriage, the hardware and stove business increased. Old-fashioned open wood-fire was abandoned and the wood cook stove took its place in the kitchen. Once his business was well established, he began to acquire real estate; first he build the Woodruff block, then the Iron block. With his sons-in-law, Howell Cooper, Henry Keep and Pearson Mundy, they erected the Woodruff House. In 1836 with Mr. Stocking and John Jacob Astor, purchased a large tract of land at Green Bay, WI. It did not turn out well and he sold his interest to Mr. Astor. N. M. Woodruff died on 16 January 1857 at age 65 years. Roxana Bush was a mother, grandmother, and great-grandmother who survived her husband and lived on the old homestead.
Return to Peoples page.
Copyright 2016 Jefferson County NYGenWeb — a member of the NYGenWeb Project
If you have any questions or comments about this page, please contact,
County Co-Coordinator Nancy Dixon or
Co-Coordinator Bruce Coyne.
Return to Jefferson County Genweb Page